University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Knowledge Translation

To address the major academic priority of Connection with Community and the major research platform of Translation, the VP Research has called for the development of an Advisory Committee on Knowledge Engagement (ACKE) with a mandate to actively identify collaborative opportunities for the University of Calgary to encourage and improve academic knowledge engagement. Knowledge Engagement brings together Knowledge Translation with Community Engaged Scholarship and other similar processes related to community-university integration. Knowledge engagement is an intersectoral endeavour involving academics, students, and community stakeholders. The committee will advise the VPR on how to strengthen knowledge engagement within the research agenda as well as lead cross-campus initiatives and consultation in this area (workshops, roundtables, town halls, etc.).

The ACKE will address the Strategic Research Plan goal of Engaging our Communities (5.3.3) by investigating avenues for strengthening opportunities for academic-community networking and for development of research partnerships of mutual benefit to the university and our community. Ongoing collaborative partnerships will provide opportunities for knowledge translation of research to practice through involvement of stakeholders in all aspects of the research processes from defining the research question to applying the findings in practice. A separate research platform under the name Commercialization promotes activities of a money-making nature, including intellectual property, technology transfer and entrepreneurship. The Vice-President (Research) Office is deeply committed to supporting and enhancing both knowledge engagement and commercialization activities at the University.

The ACKE has appointed two new co-chairs as part of the Strategic Research Plan in Knowledge Translation.

Committee Members

ACKE Co-Chairs

Position

Research

Contact

Dr. Gayle Rutherford

Assoc. Prof, Faculty of Nursing, University of Calgary Professional Faculties Building, 2500 University Drive NW Calgary AB T2N 4N1

Community-based research, grounded theory, homelessness, inter-professional education, nursing education, poverty and incarceration

geruther@ucalgary.ca

403.220.6984

Assistant: Amy McCarthy

Senior Admin. Assist. Faculty of Nursing

Assistant to Rutherford

mccarthy@ucalgary.ca

403.220.4648

Dr. David Johnson

(KT Canada – Calgary Node Lead)

 

Professor, Departments of Pediatrics, Pharmacology & Therapeutics, Faculty of Medicine, University of Calgary Rm C4-643, 4th floor 2888 Shaganappi Trail, NW
Calgary, AB T3B 6A8

Management of acute respiratory disease in children (asthma, bronchiolitis, croup), Knowledge translation

 

David.johnson@albertahealthservices.ca

403.955.7873

403.955.7552

Assistant: Erika Helmerson

Department of Pediatrics, Alberta Health Services

Assistant to Johnson

 

Erika.Helmerson@albertahealthservices.ca

403.955.7873

403.955.7552

ACKE Committee Members

 

 

 

Rosmin Esmail

Director Knowledge Translation Innovation and Research Operations, Research Innovation and Analytics Portfolio

Adjunct Lecturer, Department of Oncology

Rosmin.Esmail@albertahealthservices.ca

403-944-3123

Gabrielle Lindstrom

 

 

 

gabrielle.lindstrom@ucalgary.ca

 

Dr. Eddy S. Lang

Senior Researcher and Associate Professor Emergency Medicine, Alberta Health Services Unit 1633, 1632 – 14th Avenue NW T2N1M7

 Emergency Medicine, Knowledge Translation

Eddy.Lang@albertahealthservices.ca

403.944.4584

 

Assistant:

Amy Graham

Unit 1633, 1632 – 14th Avenue NW T2N1M7 

Assistant to Lang

Amy.N.Graham@albertahealthservices.ca

403.944-1651

fx: 403-944-3684

Dr. Debbie White

 

Associate Professor, Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Nursing, University of Calgary Professional Faculties Building, 2500 University Drive NW Calgary AB T2N 4N1

 Health services research, models of care, organizational practices, patient safety

 

dwhit@ucalgary.ca

403.210.9627

Assistant: Holly Lywin

Faculty of Nursing, University of Calgary

Assistant to Nursing head

kermantr@ucalgary.ca

403.220.4646

403.284.4803

Melanie Hulsker

 

Manager of Strategy & Partnerships

Community and Neighborhood Services, City of Calgary

Melanie.Hulsker@calgary.ca

403-268-5155

Dr. David Este

 

Associate Dean, Research and Partnerships

Faculty of Social Work PF 4243
University of Calgary

Mental health, non-profit management, multicultural social work practice, qualitative research

deste@ucalgary.ca

403.220.7309

 

Dr. Kelly Schwartz

Associate Professor

Faculty of Education EDT 320
University of Calgary

Adolescent development, child development, international & comm. Development

kdschwar@ucalgary.ca

403.220.3669

Dr. Mary Grantham-O’Brien

Assoc. Prof. and Director, Language Research Centre Dept. of Germanic, Slavic and East Asian Studies, Faculty of Arts,

University of Calgary

Acquisition of second language pronunciation, perception & production of prosidic cues

mgobrien@ucalgary.ca

403.210.8542

Tracy Wasylak

 

Vice President, Strategic Clinical Networks, Alberta Health Services

 

Tracy.Wasylak@albertahealthservices.ca

403.943.1256

403.560.8833

Assistant: Kelly Van Camp

Office of the VP, Strategic Clinical Networks: Alberta Health Services

Assistant to Tracy Wasylak

Kelly.VanCamp@albertahealthservices.ca

403-943-1202

Dr. Pamela Valentine

 

Chief Operating Officer, Alberta Innovates Health Solutions

 

Pamela.valentine@albertainnovates.ca

780.423.5727 ext. 230

Frank Maurer

Associate  Vice President (Research)

 

frank.maurer@ucalgary.ca

220-3531

Stephen Guscott

 

Student’s Union Representative

 

kinesrep@su.ucalgary.ca

Cari Gulbrandsen

 

Graduate Student Association President

 

vpa@gsa.ucalgary.ca

Dr. Stephanie Montesanti

Post Doc Association

(Community Health Sciences)

 

srmontes@ucalgary.ca

403.220.4299

Robin Smith

Specialist, External Grants Core Program, Research Services

 

robin.smith@ucalgary.ca

403-220-5647

Dr. John Brown

Associate Dean (Research), Professor, Architecture Faculty, Environmental Design Practice

 

brownj@ucalgary.ca

403-220-7441

Assistant: Nicole Works

 

Assistant to John Brown

nworks@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Herman Barkema

 Professor, Veterinary Medicine

NSERC Ind Research Infectious Disease, Dairy Cattle 

barkema@ucalgary.ca

 

Dr. Birgitte Grogaard Associate Professor, Haskayne School of Business

Strategy and Global Management

bgrobaar@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Tina Rinker

Associate Professor;  Schulich School of Engineering

Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering 

kdrinker@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Brian Keay

Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Science

keay@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Greg Hagen (tentative)

Associate Professor, Associate Dean Research,

Faculty of Law

ghagen@ucalgary.ca

Kinesiology Rep

c/o Dr. Penny Werthner, Dean

knesdean@ucalgary.ca

Dr. David Turner Community Engagement Advisor for Population, Public, and Aboriginal Health; Alberta Health Services

David.Turner@albertahealthservices.ca