University for high school students

Are you a high-achieving student ready to take on university courses? The Dual Credit or Young Scientist program may be the challenge you’re looking for.

Dual Credit

Our dual credit courses help prepare high school students for the post-secondary environment and eases the transition from high school to university. UCalgary offers a several courses, including Math, Psychology, Physics, Kinesiology, English and more. Taking these courses allow students to get credit towards their high school diploma as well as post-secondary course credit.


Dual credit opportunities

Dual credit opportunities are arranged and supported through the CBE.

For more details on course offering and applying, please visit the CBE website.

For more details

Dual Credit Students

Students who have successfully been selected to participate in dual-credit studies will receive detailed information about their next steps.

Dual Credit students are still considered high school applicants for admission as long as you haven’t completed more than 30 units at a post-secondary institution. Students who have completed more than 30 units will be considered transfer students.

Young Scientist Program

To be considered for the Young Scientist Program, you must be recommended by the department you wish to study in. Please contact the department you are interested in. Once approved, they will send you the application information.


Mathematics & Statistics:

Thi Dinh - tndinh@ucalgary.ca
info@math.ucalgary.ca

Computer Science

Nathaly Verwaal - verwaal@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
cpsc@cpsc.ucalgary.ca

Physics and Astronomy

David Feder - dfeder@ucalgary.ca
phasugrd@ucalgary.ca 

Geoscience

Rudi Meyer - rmeyer@ucalgary.ca
geoscience@ucalgary.ca

Chemistry

Farideh Jalilehvand - faridehj@ucalgary.ca
chem.info@ucalgary.ca