Search for Dean, Faculty of Law

The University of Calgary has commenced the search for a new Dean, Faculty of Law. This process is outlined in the University of Calgary Procedure for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans.

The advisory selection committee is in the process of being struck and the committee members will be listed further down on this page. For information on the composition of the advisory search committee please see Procedure for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans Appendix 1.



Dean, Faculty of Law

Reporting to the Provost and Vice-President (Academic), the Dean leads the strategic direction and is the key advocate for the faculty.  As the chief executive officer, this visionary leader is also responsible for faculty and academic professional staff development, budget oversight and planning, fund development, facilities and research, while fostering a culture of equity, diversity, and inclusion for all students, faculty and staff.

Read the job advertisement here

Provide feedback

Provide confidential feedback for the search for the Dean, Faculty of Law. All feedback will be taken into consideration by the advisory committee and search consultant. 

  1. Chair

    Penny Werthner

  2. VP (Research) Designate

    Pamela Roach

  3. Tenured Academic Staff

    Lyndsay Campbell

  4. Tenured Academic Staff

    Emily Laidlaw

  5. Tenured Academic Staff

    Michel Ilg

  6. Tenured Academic Staff

    Elizabeth Whitsitt

  7. TUCFA Representative

    Tavis Campbell

  8. Decanal Representative

    John Brown

  9. MaPS Representative

    Marian Georgy

  10. AUPE Representative

    Hilary Neatby

  11. SU Representative

    Safaa Al-Khaz'Aly

  12. GSA Representative

    Cameron Armstrong

  13. GFC Representative

    Juilet Guichon

  14. GFC Representative

    Nick Turner

  15. Community Representative

    Oliver Ho

  16. Community Representative

    Sameera Sereda

Search Consultant

We seek your advice as we search for a new Dean, Faculty of Law. All responses will be kept confidential. 

Janet Soles & Associates is the firm supporting the search. Please contact their consultants directly with your questions, applications or nominations.

Janet Soles