University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Electrodynamics, Quantum Field Theory to Nobel Prize in Physics: Scientific Contributions of Professor Abdus Salam


Date: Friday, June 12, 2015
Time: 3:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Room: Science Theatres 140
Location: University of Calgary

Science Theatres 140, University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW Calgary, AB T2N 1N4 

Contact Information:
Dr. Naweed I. Syed

Symposium Highlights

  • Scientific contributions of Professor, Abdus Salam (Nobel Prize Winner) in the field of Physics.
  • Role of community engagement in promoting major scientific breakthroughs.
  • Role of historians in promoting scientists and scholars who have been the 'game changers' to the collective – regardless of their religion, origin, race or gender, etc.

Program Schedule

Mr. Iqbal Haider – “The Eternal Quest”

Dr. Barry Sanders – “Abdus Salam: The Grand Unifier”

Dr. Rachid Ouyed – “Up the Tree and Down the Five Rivers: The Universe of Peace and Salam”

Dr. Robert I. Thompson – "Understanding Antimatter: The Global Connection”

Dr, Perwez Perwazi – “My Personal Encounters with Dr. Salam”

Dr. Naweed I. Syed – Closing Remarks


Professor, Mohammad Abdus Salam
(January 29, 1926 – November 21, 1996)

Mohammad Abdus Salam was a Pakistani Theoretical Physicist who shared the 1979 Nobel Prize in Physics for his contribution to electroweak unification. He was the first Pakistani to receive a Nobel Prize. Salam was a science advisor to the Government of Pakistan from 1960 to 1974, a position from which he played a major and influential role in Pakistan's science infrastructure. Salam was responsible for not only major developments and contributions in theoretical and particle physics, but also for promoting scientific research in his country. Salam was the founding director of Space and Upper Atmosphere Research Commission (SUPARCO), and responsible for the establishment of the Theoretical Physics Group (TPG) in Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission (PAEC). As a Science Advisor, Salam played an integral role in Pakistan's development of peaceful use of nuclear energy. For these contributions, he is viewed as the "scientific father" of this program in the views of the scientists who he mentored – both in Pakistan and globally. Salam's major and notable achievements include the “Pati–Salam” model, magnetic photon, vector meson, Grand Unified Theory, work on supersymmetry and, most importantly, electroweak theory, for which he was awarded the most prestigious award in physics – the Nobel Prize. Salam made major contributions in the field of quantum physics and towards the advancement of Mathematics at Imperial College London. With his trainees and collaborators, he made important contributions to the modern theory on neutrinos, neutron stars and black holes, as well as the work on modernizing the quantum mechanics and quantum field theory. As a teacher and science promoter, Salam is remembered as a founder and scientific father of mathematical and theoretical physics in Pakistan during his term as the chief scientific advisor to the president. Even until his death, Salam continued to contribute to physics and tirelessly advocated for the development of science in Third-World countries.


Dr. Barry Sanders
AITF iCORE Strategic Chair in Quantum Information Science
Professor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy
University of Calgary

Dr. Barry Sanders is AITF iCORE Strategic Chair in Quantum Information Science and Director of the Institute for Quantum Science and Technology at the University of Calgary. Dr. Sanders also holds a QianRen B Chair in the Division of Quantum Physics and Quantum Information of the National Laboratory for Physical Sciences at the Microscale at the University of Science and Technology China, and Adjunct Professor at the Raman Research Institute. He is the recipient of several prestigious awards and grants.

Dr. Robert Thompson
Professor and Dept. Head of Physics and Astronomy
University of Calgary

Dr. Thompson is the Chair of the Division of Physics Education of the Canadian Association of Physicists, as well as serving as Secretary- Treasurer of the Division of Atomic & Molecular Physics and Photon Interactions of the Canadian Association of Physicists. In 2007, he was awarded the CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching, which is the pre-eminent award in Canada for post-secondary educators in physics. Dr. Thompson has published numerous articles in peer-reviewed journals.

Dr. Rachid Ouyed
Professor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy
University of Calgary

Professor Ouyed received his PhD in Astrophysics and is a member of the Canadian Astronomical Society – among many others. He has published over 120 papers in the area of astrophysics – including “Nature”. He is the recipient of many prestigious awards and holds several competitive grants from national agencies.

Dr. Naweed I. Syed
FRCP (Edin) Dept. Cell Biology and Anatomy
University of Calgary

Dr. Naweed Syed is Professor and Scientific Director of the Alberta Children’s Hospital Research Institute, Cumming School of Medicine –University of Calgary. In 2012, he was also appointed as the Postdoctoral Program Director, Office of the Vice-President (Research). Dr. Syed’s research is focused at developing brain-machine interfaces.

Dr. Nasir Perwez Perwazi
Retired Diplomat, Research Scholar,
Educationist, Broadcaster and Biographer

Dr. Perwazi is well-renowned scholar – known for his contributions to education, political science, print and media broadcast related activities. He is also interested in the life and history of scholars and scientists.

Mr. Iqbal Haider
President, Josh Society of Canada Scholar
Editor, Poet, Author

Mr. Haider has been the editor of several newspapers and author of several books. Mr. Haider is a globally acclaimed poet and an esteemed scholar, poet and philanthropist.