University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Research Services Office (RSO)

Submitted by rycroft1 on Tue, 08/05/2014 - 5:52pm

MacKimmie Library Tower (MLT)
3rd Floor
Reception MLT 3rd Floor

Research Services
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW
Calgary, AB  T2N 1N4

Phone: (403) 220-6354
Fax:     (403) 289-0693
For unit and individual contact phone numbers and email addresses,
please refer to the below drop-down menus

Hours of Operation:
8:30 am – 4:30 pm

Research Services - Contacts

Submitted by rfee on Mon, 11/04/2013 - 1:16pm

Grants and Awards Division

Point of contact for Tri-Council funding, foundations and the nonprofit sector. General inquiries can be sent to rsogrants@ucalgary.ca

Internal Grants, Training Awards and Prizes & Awards    
Denise Ward, Officer
Research Grants
NSERC USRA Liaison
 (403) 220-5925 ward@ucalgary.ca
Karen Halls
Grants Assistant
(403) 210-7107 klhalls@ucalgary.ca

Tiago Lier
Specialist, Research Awards
(403) 210-7224 tlier@ucalgary.ca 
Marissa Montgomery
Senior Research Awards Officer
(403) 220-4495 mlmontgo@ucalgary.ca
External Grants    
Robin Smith, Manager
External Grants
 (403) 220-5647 robin.smith@ucalgary.ca
Morgan Alkin, Senior Officer
Research Grants
(403) 220-3016 macafons@ucalgary.ca 
Anna LeMarquand, Officer
Research Grants
(403)-220-2715 asamuels@ucalgary.ca
Dallas Callaway, Officer
Research Grants 
(403) 210-9815

dacallaw@ucalgary.ca

Kari Larson, Officer
Research Grants 
(403) 210-5459

kari.larson@ucalgary.ca

Katie Ryan, Officer
Research Grants 
(403) 210-6044

katie.ryan@ucalgary.ca

Project Set up Facilitation    

Jonathan Jucker,                  
Grants Assistant

(403) 220-2108

Jonathan.jucker@ucalgary.ca

Director    

Lorna Very, Director, Grants, Awards and Ethics

Acting Director, Research Services

 (403) 220-4121 very@ucalgary.ca
General Questions
Research Services rsogrants@ucalgary.ca

Institutional Programs

Institutional Programs is the point of contact for CFI, EDT, CRC, CAIP, CERC, Western Economic Diversification, Genome Canada, and large Tri-Council grants. General inquiries can be sent to ipd@ucalgary.ca

Caroline Morrison
Manager, Process Facilitation
(403) 210-3912 c.morrison@ucalgary.ca
Ryan Gabel
Senior Institutional Programs Officer
(403) 210-6971 rgabel@ucalgary.ca
Shelly Douse
Senior Compliance Analyst
(403) 220-3782 shellyann.douse@ucalgary.ca
Lauren McDougall
Institutional Program Officer
(403) 220-3177  lcmcdoug@ucalgary.ca

Research Facilitation
Contact point for project-specific inquiries

   
Emma Koiston, Specialist
Research Facilitation
(403) 220-8560 ekoiston@ucalgary.ca
Faye Muschiol, Specialist
Research Facilitation
(403) 210-6976 flewis@ucalgary.ca
Rhian Gunn
Coordinator, 
Research Chairs Programs
(403) 210-7336 rgunn@ucalgary.ca
Chris Roy
Senior Project Analyst
(403) 220-3786 cmroy@ucalgary.ca
Alison Turner
Project Analyst
(403) 220-6778 aturner@ucalgary.ca
Ryan Pike
Project Analyst
(403) 210-7851 rnpike@ucalgary.ca
Kayleigh McQueen
Project Analyst
(403) 220-2461 kayleigh.mcqueen@ucalgary.ca
Anna Wang
Sr. Infrastructure Funding Program Officer
 (403) 220-6731 wangja@ucalgary.ca 
Director    
Liz Scarratt (403) 210-6756 scarrate@ucalgary.ca

Research Ethics & Compliance Services

CFREB Inquiries cfreb@ucalgary.ca
CHREB Inquiries chreb@ucalgary.ca

Kate Williams
Manager

(403) 220-7938 kwillia@ucalgary.ca
Amala Jose
Research Ethics Analyst
(403) 210-9863

amala.jose@ucalgary.ca

Janaki Jayanthan
Advisor, Research Ethics
(403) 220-4283 janaki.jayanthan@ucalgary.ca

Joanna Wright
Research Ethics Analyst

(403) 210-3927

jwrigh@ucalgary.ca

Bonita (Bonnie) Everett
Research Ethics Coordinator
(403) 220-2297  beverett@ucalgary.ca

Emily Nolan
Research Ethics Analyst

(403) 210-6421 emily.nolan1@ucalgary.ca
CFREB Inquiries   cfreb@ucalgary.ca
CHREB Foothills Drop-Off Location

Room 5E
Teaching, Research & Wellness (TRW) Foothills Hospital

 
CHREB New Application Inquiries

(403) 220-2297

chreb@ucalgary.ca
CHREB Post-Approval Inquiries

(403) 220-7990

resethic@ucalgary.ca

Legal and Intellectual Property

General legal inquiries can be sent to legaladm@ucalgary.ca
General Intellectual Property inquiries can be sent to ipadmin@ucalgary.ca

Neil Campbell
Senior Legal Counsel
(403) 220-3791 neil.campbell@ucalgary.ca
Christopher Chow
Agreements Manager

(403) 220-3784

 chowc@ucalgary.ca

Sahar Salimi
Contracts Specialist

(403) 210-9101

sahar.salimi@ucalgary.ca

Mariska Span-Smeelen
Contracts and Compliance Officer

(403) 210-7841 

mspansme@ucalgary.ca

Administration

General inquiries for the Research Services office can be sent to rsoadmin@ucalgary.ca

John Reynolds - Associate Vice President (Research)

Director, Research Services

(403) 220‐4613

reynolds@ucalgary.ca

Lorna Very, Director, Grants, Awards and Ethics

Acting Director, Research Services

(403) 220-4121

very@ucalgary.ca

Kim Campbell - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant

(403) 220‐6354

campbek@ucalgary.ca

Cheryl Trudel - Manager, Administrative Services, Research Services

(403) 210-9560

ctrudel@ucalgary.ca

Shikha Nayyar - Research Data Analyst

(403) 220-5441

shikha.nayyar@ucalgary.ca

General Office Information

IMPORTANT: Effective August 12, 2013 Research Services relocated to:

3rd Floor Mackimmie Library Tower (MLT 300)
2500 University Drive NW  Calgary, AB T2N 1N4

Hours of operation and telephone / email contact information will remain the same. Please update our physical address in your files.

Hours of Operation:
8:30 - 4:30 / Closed from Noon - 1:00 p.m. (document drop-off still available)

Phone: (403) 220-6354
Fax: (403) 289-0693
Email: rsoadmin@ucalgary.ca

Funding Program Contacts

Alberta Innovates (AIHS, AIBS, AIEES, AITF)

Anna LeMarquand, Officer
Research Grants

(403) 220-2715

Alberta Innovates Technology Futures Chairs  

Tiago Lier, Specialist Research Awards

(403) 210-7224
tlier@ucalgary.ca

Alberta Innovates Health Solutions - Summer Research Studentships and Heritage Youth Research Summer (HYRS) Program

Marissa Montgomery, Research Awards

(403) 220-4495
mlmontgo@ucalgary.ca

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Anna LeMarquand, Officer 
Research Grants
(403) 220-2715
Canadian Foundations, Societies & Associations
Katie Ryan
(403) 210-6044
International Foundations, Societies & Associations
Kari Larson
(403) 210-5459
MITACS Programs
Denise Ward, 
Officer 
Research Grants
(403) 220-5925
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Dallas Callaway,
Officer 
Research Grants
(403) 210-9815

Natural Science & Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Discovery Programs

Morgan Alkin,
Senior Officer 
Research Grants
(403) 220-3016

Natural Science & Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Partnership Programs

Kari Larson, Officer Research Grants

(403) 210-5459
kari.larson@ucalgary.ca 

Natural Science & Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) USRA Programs

Denise Ward, Officer 
Research Grants
(403) 220-5925

Networks of Centres of Research Excellence (NCE)

Dallas Callaway,
Officer  
Research Grants
(403) 210-9815

Social Science & Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) - All programs except Connection and Knowledge Synthesis

 Morgan Alkin, Senior Officer 
Research Grants
(403) 220-3016

Social Science & Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) - Connection and Knowledge Synthesis

 Kari Lasron, Officer  
Research Grants
(403) 210-5459

If the program you are interested in is not listed, or you are not sure who to contact, email rsogrants@ucalgary.ca to be directed to the appropriate grants officer.

Post-award Financial Questions

For all post-award financial related queries please contact the Research Accounting Support Team at rtahelp@ucalgary.ca (403) 210-7900.

For more information, visit: http://www.ucalgary.ca/finance/research