University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Welcome to the Education Students' Association

The Education Students’ Association (ESA) is the Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA) student local for the University of Calgary. We are the representative body for the over 1200 undergraduate students enrolled in the Werklund School of Education as well as the local membership of ATA Student Local No. 2. Through our student executive council, the ESA endeavours to assist our members in becoming active participants of the ATA, all the while advancing the interest of every Werklund undergraduate student.

We offer annual memberships to all education undergraduates, which provide access to the immense resources of the ATA as well as the wide array of events and services hosted by the ESA executive council.


ESA SPOTLIGHT - January 2017 - Annual General Meeting

Please attend the Annual General Meeting on January 27th, 2017 at 5:00pm to assist us in making major constitutional changes to the ESA that will allow us to operate more seamlessly within both the University of Calgary and the Alberta Teachers' Association guidelines. A copy of the revised and interim constitution can be found here. Changes are listed below:

  • Proposed Amendment to Article 8
    • Movement to Policy Handbook
  • Proposed Amendment to Article 11
    • Executive Elections & Elimination of appointments
  • Proposed Amendment to Article 13
    • AGM Regulations and Procedures
  • Removal of Proxy Voting (Article 15)
  • Proposed Amendment to Article 17
    • Removal of an Officer
  • Proposed Amendment to Article 18
    • Addition of ATA intervention clauses 



Membership and Office Information

Memberships for 2016-2017 are available in the ESA Office during office hours.

All year 2's must be an ESA Member to be eligible for Teachers' Convention.

Our office is located in Education Tower, Room 202B (inside the Student Work Area).

Office hours for January 9 - February 17 are listed below, or by appointment:              


Please feel free to contact us directly at or visit us on Facebook at /esaucalgary, Twitter at @ESA_UCalgary, or Instagram at @ESA_UCalgary

We acknowledge that we live and practice on Treaty 7 Territory. We give thanks to the Kainai Nation (Blood), Piikani Nation (Northern Peigan), Siksika Nation (Blackfoot), Nakoda Nation (Bearspaw, Chiniki, Wesley/Goodstoney), and Tsuu T’ina Nation (Sarcee). On these lands we are all Treaty peoples.