Connect with Us

Indigenous Engagement Team

 

 

Michael Hart

Michael Hart

Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)
403.220.6266
michael.hart@ucalgary.ca
Admin 100E

Carol Gelette

Carol Gelette

Executive Assistant to the Vice-Provost
403.220.3790
cgelette@ucalgary.ca
Admin 100

Shawna Cunningham

Shawna Cunningham

Director, Indigenous Strategy
403.210.9103
shawna.cunningham@ucalgary.ca
Science A  157

Elissa Twoyoungmen

Elissa Twoyoungmen

Indigenous Cultural Education and Protocol Specialist
403.220.8361
etwoyoun@ucalgary.ca
Science A 157C

Reg Crowshoe

Reg Crowshoe

Elder with the University of Calgary
reg.crowshoe@ucalgary.ca
Science A 157E

 

lynnemotoska

Lynne Motoska

Communications and Special Events Coordinator
lynne.motoska@ucalgary.ca
Science A 157

gerald

Gerald Ratt

Specialist, Indigenous Initiatives
Gerald.ratt@ucalgary.ca
Admin 100

jenn ksionzena

Jennifer Ksionzena

Research Assistant 
jmksionz@ucalgary.ca
Science A 157

The vision of ii' taa'poh'to'p is supported by various internal groups, committee members and volunteers.

Indigenous UPartners

temporary for Amber

Research Services

Nicole Ritchie
Research Grants Officer, Indigenous Research Support Team
irst@ucalgary.ca

research.ucalgary.ca/engage-research/irst

gabrielle

Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning 

Gabrielle Lindstrom
Educational Development Consultant, Indigenous Ways of Knowing
gabrielle.lindstrom@ucalgary.ca

taylorinstitute.ucalgary.ca/

karen

Student Services

Karen MacDonald
Manager, Writing Symbols Lodge
karen.macdonald1@ucalgary.ca

ucalgary.ca/student-services/writing-symbols

lauren

Human Resources

Lauren Remple
Specialist, Talent Acquisition 
lauren.remple@ucalgary.ca

ucalgary.ca/hr/campus-culture/indigenous

Supporting Groups

  1. Communications

    Communications Services

    Esther Kelly
    Communications Manager
    esther.kelly@ucalgary.ca

  2. Institutional Development 

     

    Institutional Development

    Shelsea Willett
    Associate Director of Development, Corporations Foundations
    shelsea.willett1@ucalgary.ca

Chair: Michael Hart, VP, Indigenous Engagement  
Vice Chair: Shawna Cunningham, Director, Indigenous Strategy 
Cultural Advisor: Reg Crowshoe, University of Calgary Elder

Current members listed in alphabetical order:

Baptiste, Louise (Faculty of Nursing)

Beatty, Susan (Libraries & Cultural Resources)

Bedard, Amber (Research Services)

Crowshoe, Reg (Senator, UC)

Cunningham, Shawna (Indigenous Strateg)

Ferrabee, Jane (Campus Planning)

Gelette, Carol (Indigenous Engagement)

Gerlach, Craig (Office of Sustainability)

Gladue, Keeta (Writing Symbols Lodge)

Gordon, Alicia (SU VP Student Life)

Hart, Michael (VP Indigenous Engagement)

Kenny, Natasha (Taylor Institute)

LeBlanc, Sheila (Continuing Education)

Livesey, Graham (EVDS)

MacDonald, Karen (Manager, Writing Symbols Lodge)

MacPherson, Kathleen (Development)

Mascher, Sharon (Faculty of Law)

Mosher, Dianne (Cumming School of Medicine)

Murray, Maribeth (Arctic Institute of North America)

Mykes, Amy (Senate)

Poitras Pratt, Yvonne (Werklund School of Education)

Srivastava, Aruna (Department of English)

Stewart, David (TUCFA)

Yanushkevich, Svetlana (Schulich School of Engineering)

Tumasz, Virginia (Faculty of Arts)

Twoyoungmen, Elissa (Indigenous Engagement)

Wagg, Catherine (Faculty of Veterinary Medicine)

Wheeler, Nicole (Human Resources)

Winslow, Jaryd (Chief, Indigenous Students' Council, current name: Indigenous Students' Circle)

Wood, Vanessa (Student & Enrolment Services)

1. Inclusivity and the Student Experience

2. Faculty and Staff Experience

3. Inter-cultural Capacity Building

4. Academic Programs

5. Community Engagement / Places and Spaces

6. Policies, Procedures, and Practice

7. Renewal and Community Reporting