Professors


Dr. Simon S. Park

Dr. Simon S. Park 

simon.park@ucalgary.ca
http://schulich.ucalgary.ca/profiles/simon-park

CIRP Associate Member

P.Eng

(past) AITF iCORE Strategic Chair

Post-Doctoral Fellows


Dr. Jongho Won

Dr. Jongho Won

Research Associate

Dept. of Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering

jongho.won1@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Hongseok Jo

Dr. Hongseok Jo

Post-doc fellow

Lithium-ion batteries, electrospinning, sensors

hongseok.jo@ucalgary.ca

hongseok0102@gmail.com

Dr. Chaneel Park

Dr. Chaneel Park

MITACS post-doc fellow

Sensors

chaneelpark@gmail.com

 

Dr. Zhuoran Dang

Dr. Zhuoran Dang

Postdoctoral Associate

Multiphase flow pipeline leak detection

zhuoran.dang1@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Xavier Michaud

Dr. Xavier Michaud

Postdoctoral Fellow

Next-Generation Batteries

xavier.michaud@ucalgary.ca

Allen Sandwell

Dr. Allen Sandwell

Postdoctoral Fellow

Design and Sensors for CCS monitoring and Force Sensing

asandwel@ucalgary.ca

Hansaem Lee

Dr. Hansaem Lee

Postdoctoral Associate

Sensors & Artificial Intelligence

ihansaem21@gmail.com

Pedda Masthanaiah Ette

Dr. Pedda Masthanaiah Ette

MITACS Post-doc Fellow

Energy Storage (Li-ion & Beyond Li-ion), All-Solid-State-Li-ion Batteries

peddamasthanaiah.ett@ucalgary.ca

 

 

Current Students/Interns/Visiting


Danny Wong

Danny Wong

PhD Student

Electrospinning, Carbon Fibers, Gas Sensors

dannyw196@hotmail.com

Sina Rezvani

Sina Rezvani

Phd Student

Composites, Sensors, Energy Harvesting, AFM

sina.rezvani@ucalgary.ca 

Lin Ge

Lin Ge

PhD Student

LIN.GE@ucalgary.ca

Jaemyung Shin

Jaemyung Shin

PhD Student (co-supervised with Dr. K. Kim)

3D Bioprinting

jaemyung.shin@ucalgary.ca

Hamid Mostaghimi

Hamid Mostaghimi 

PhD Student 

Dynamics, Vibrations, Nanocomposite sensors

hamid.mostaghimi1@ucalgary.ca

Zak Masrani

Zak Masrani

PhD Student 

Machining, Artificial Intelligence, Dynamics, and Sensors

abdulrzak.masrani@ucalgary.ca

Nima Tabatabaei Rezaei

Nima Tabatabaei Rezaei

PhD Student (co-supervised with Dr. K. Kim)

Organ-on-Chip and 3-D Bioprinting

nima.tabatabaeirezae@ucalgary.ca

Soheil Amani

Soheil Amani

PhD Student

Forming and Artificial Intelligence

soheil.amani@ucalgary.ca

Md Raziun Bin Mamtaz

Md Raziun Bin Mamtaz

PhD Student

Solid-state batteries

mrbinmamtaz@connect.ust.hk

Kinam Hyun

Kinam Hyun

PhD Student

3D Bioprinting & Manufacturing

gusrlska04@gmail.com

 

 

Kazem Vakilzade

Kazem Vakilzade

PhD Student

Sensors and Artificial Intelligence

vakilzade.k@gmail.com

Alaa Alawy

Alaa Alawy

PhD Student

Composites, Sensors, Carbon Fiber

alaa.alawy@ucalgary.ca

Robin Chan Woo Jeong

Robin Chan Woo Jeong

MSc Student

Printed Electronics

robin132456@gmail.com

Juyeon Cha

Juyeon Cha

MSc Student (co-supervised with Dr. K. Kim)

Stem Cell Bioprinting

juyeon.cha@ucalgary.ca

Zhanhao Wang

Zhanhao Wang

MSc Student (co-supervised with Dr. J. Lee)

Robots

zhanhao.wang@ucalgary.ca

Talha Zafar

Talha Zafar

MSc Student 

Carbon Fibers

talha.zafar2@ucalgary.ca

Terry Chuo

Terry Chuo

MSc Student

Sensors, 3D Printing, Monitoring

terrychuo@hotmail.com 

Sharath Chandra

Sharath Chandra

MSc Student

Carbon Fibers

sharath.chandra@ucalgary.ca

 

Josmar Cristello

Josmar Cristello

MSc Student

Pipeline Engineering, Artificial Intelligence, Leak Detection

josmar.baruffaldicri@ucalgary.ca

Max (Doowon) Kim

Doowon (Max) Kim

MSc Student (co-supervised with Dr. J. Lee)

Robotic Automation

doowon.kim1@ucalgary.ca

Advait Deshmukh

Advait Deshmukh

MSc Student

Printed Electronics

advait.deshmukh@ucalgary.ca

Yaser Arafath Gulam Dhasthagir

Yaser Arafath Gulam Dhasthagir

MSc Student

Pipeline Engineering and Leak Detection

yaserarafath.gulamdh@ucalgary.ca

 

Navroop Singh

Navroop Singh

MSc Student

Investigation of Gas Mixture Stratification

navroop.singh@ucalgary.ca

 

 

Justin Rejimone

Justin Rejimone

MSc Student

Soft Robotics

Justin.Rejimone@ucalgary.ca

Luca Cherpillod

Luca Cherpillod

York University Co-op 2022

Sensors

cherpil@my.yorku.ca

Vince Cabrera

Vince Cabrera

Waterloo Coop 2022-2023

Lithium-ion Batteries

v2cabrera@uwaterloo.ca

Darius Clinton

Darius Clinton

UC Intern 2021-2022

Sensors

dmclinto@ucalgary.ca

Josh Garden

Josh Garden

UC Intern 2022-2023

Lithium-ion batteries

josh.garden@ucalgary.ca

Sejeong Park

Sejeong Park

MITACS Visiting Student 2022

Nanomaterials

sejeong.park@ucalgary.ca

tpwjddnwls@naver.com

Prasanth Subramaniyan

Prasanth Subramaniyan

MITACS Spring/Summer 2022

Composites, Sensors, Energy Harvesting, AFM

prasanth.s.0618@gmail.com

Noah McGregor

Noah McGregor

Waterloo Spring/Summer Co-op 2022

Lithium-Ion Batteries

n3mcgregor@uwaterloo.ca

Raeanna Lam

Raeanna Lam

Business Assistant

raeanna.lam@ucalgary.ca

Toby Squire

Toby Squire

MITACS Globalink Summer Intern 2022

Sensors

tobyscket@gmail.com

Nitanshu Khatkar

Nitanshu Khatkar

MITACS Summer Intern 2022

Carbon Fiber

nitanshu.khatkar@ucalgary.ca

Srishti Mathur

Srishti Mathur

UC Intern 2022-2023

Sensors

srishti.mathur@ucalgary.ca

Alex Magrath

Alex Magrath

Waterloo Coop 2022-2023

Sensors & AI

amagrath@uwaterloo.ca

Graduated Students, Internship Students & Co-op Students


Gurjiwan Brar

Gurjiwan Brar

UC Intern 2021-2022

Carbon Fiber

gurjiwan.brar1@ucalgary.ca

William Sadowski

William Sadowski

UC Intern 2021-2022

Sensor Fusion, AI

william.sadowski@ucalgary.ca

Ada Wang

Ada Wang

Waterloo Spring/Summer Co-op 2022

Software Development

abwang@uwaterloo.ca

Aidan Schwartzentuber

Aidan Schwartzentruber

Waterloo Spring/Summer Co-op 2022

Investigation of Gas Mixture Stratification

aksschwartzentruber@uwaterloo.ca

Francis Yoon

Francis Yoon

UC Spring/Summer Intern 2022

3-D Printing

francis.yoon@ucalgary.ca

Prathamesh Bhaktan

Prathamesh Bhaktan

MITACS Spring/Summer Student

3-D Printing 

prathamesh_n@me.iitr.ac.in

Ajwad Alam

Ajwad Alam

Waterloo Spring/Summer Intern 2022

Sensor Fusion, AI

ajwad_alam@hotmail.com

Gaeul Choi

Gaeul Choi

Visiting Graduate Student from Hongik University

Data Processing and Analysis

gaeul_choi@g.hongik.ac.kr

Daniel He

Kaixin (Daniel) He

Waterloo Spring/Summer Co-op 2022

Lithium-Ion Batteries

danielhekx@gmail.com

Dawson Alexander

Dawson Alexander

UC Spring/Summer Intern 2022

Investigation of Gas Mixture Stratification

dawson.alexander1@ucalgary.ca

Sungjun Park

Sungjun Park

IITP Student, Winter/Spring 2022

Acoustic metamaterials

sungjun.park@ucalgary.ca

Gaston Lee

Gaston Lee

Waterloo Co-op 2021-2022

Lithium-ion batteries

g73lee@uwaterloo.ca

Sam Drekic

Sam Drekic

Waterloo Co-op 2021-2022

Lithium-ion batteries

s2drekic@uwaterloo.ca

Ryan Lee

Ryan Lee

Waterloo Winter Co-op 2022

Hydrogen Pipelines

r224lee@uwaterloo.ca

Michael Vassilchenko

Michael Vassilchenko

Waterloo Winter Co-op 2022

Sensor Fusion, AI

michael.vassilchenko@ucalgary.ca

Keonho Tyler Kim

Keonho (Tyler) Kim

Laboratory Technologist

rjsgh0406@hotmail.co.kr

Jaehyun "Michael" Yang

Jaehyun (Michael) Yang  

MSc Student

Pipeline Engineering, Sensor Fusion, Artificial Intelligence

jaehyun.yang1@ucalgary.ca

Jed Pagtalunan

Jed Pagtalunan

MSc Student

Wireless telemetry

jed.pagtalunan@hotmail.com

Jonathan Mayry

Jonathan Mayry

Waterloo Coop

Sensor Fusion, AI

jdmayry@uwaterloo.ca

Abdullah Maqsood

Abdullah Maqsood

Fall 2021 Waterloo Co-op 

Sensor Fusion, AI

mamaqsoo@uwaterloo.ca

A.D. Mohammad

A.D. Mohammad

UC Intern Summer 2021

Pipeline Engineering

abdullah.mohammad@ucalgary.ca

Shaelyn Kim

Chae Lin (Shaelyn) Kim

Laboratory Assistant

chaelin.kim1@ucalgary.ca

Alex Situ

Alex Situ

UC Intern Summer 2021

alex.situ@ucalgary.ca

Tyler Horton

Tyler Horton

UC Intern 2020-2021

Printed electronics, COVID-19

tyler.horton1@ucalgary.ca

Jessy Xu

Jessy Xu

UC Intern Summer 2021

Carbon fibers, lithium-ion batteries

jessy.xu@ucalgary.ca

Abhay Chhabra

Abhay Chhabra

UC Intern Summer 2021

Printed electronics, 3D printing

abhay.chhabra@ucalgary.ca

Ahmad Awan

Ahmad Awan

UC Intern Summer 2021

Carbon fibers

ahmad.awan@ucalgary.ca

Angela Souza

Angela Souza

Spring 2021 Waterloo Coop

Sensors

angela.souza@uwaterloo.ca

Silvia Lee

Silvia Lee

Waterloo Coop

Lithium-ion batteries, sensors, printed electronics

s388lee@uwaterloo.ca

Navdeep Saggu

Navdeep Saggu

UC Intern Summer 2021

Sensors

navdeep.saggu@ucalgary.ca

Minhyung Lee

Minhyung Lee  

MSc Student

Partial Upgrading, Sensor Fusion, Artificial Intelligence

minhyung.lee1@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Seung A (Elena) Song

Dr. Seung A (Elena) Song

Post-doc fellow

Carbon fibers, composites, sensors

seunga.song@ucalgry.ca

songseunga330@gmail.com 

Md. Sazzadur Rahman

Md. Sazzadur Rahman

PhD Student

mdsazzadur.rahman@ucalgary.ca

Mohsen Hassani

Mohsen Hassani

PhD Student

Harman Sibia

Harman Sibia

UC Intern Summer 2021

Lithium-ion batteries, sensors

harmanvir.sibia@ucalgary.ca

Christopher John MacDonald

Christopher John MacDonald

MSc Student

University of Calgary

Pipeline Engineering, Leak Detection, AI

cjmacdon@ucalgary.ca 

Dr. Kaushik Parmar

Dr. Kaushik Parmar

Nano CNT Composites, Sensor Developments

kaushikparmar@gmail.com

Yuan Wei

Yuan Wei

Direct laser-assisted machining, friction in machining

yuanwei@nwpu.edu.cn

Richard Kashmirian

Richard Kashmirian

Winter 2021 Waterloo Coop

Carbon fibers

rskashmirian@uwaterloo.ca

Seoyeong Kang

Seoyeong Kang

Visiting Grad Student from Jeonbuk National University, S. Korea

Pipeline Engineering

amaigh@daum.net

Youngmin Ju

Youngmin Ju

Visiting Grad Student from Hanyang University, S. Korea

Artificial Intelligence

zenicmin1111@gmail.com

Jeong-Hyeon Baek

Jeong-Hyeon Baek

Visiting Grad Student from Hanyang University, S. Korea

Semiconductor reliability

jhbaek9489@gmail.com

Catherine Ko

Catherine Ko

Summer 2020 PURE Student

Carbon fibers, composites

catherine.ko@ucalgary.ca

Juhyun Kim

Juhyun Kim

Visiting Grad Student from Jeonbuk National University, S. Korea

Pipeline Engineering

jump1604@jbnu.ac.kr

Bo Seung Jung

Bo Seung Jung

Torque sensors, lithium-ion batteries research

boseung.jung@ucalgary.ca

Kaela Johnson

Kaela Johnson

Summer 2020 PURE Student

Pipeline Engineering

kaela.johnson@ucalgary.ca

Alex Bo Min Kim

Alex Bo Min Kim

MSc Student

Remediation, Partial Upgrading

kima@ucalgary.ca

YongRae Jang

YongRae Jang

Visiting Grad Student from Hanyang University, S. Korea

Printed Electronics, Copper Ink (2020)

jangyrae@gmail.com

Nian He

Nian He

Summer 2020 NSERC USRA Student

Carbon fibers, oil processing

nian.he1@ucalgary.ca

Sulaiman Sheikh

Sulaiman Sheikh

Summer 2020 NSERC USRA Student

COVID19, sensors, coatings

muhammad.sheikh1@ucalgary.ca

Jin Kim

Jin Kim (co-supervised with Dr. J. Lee)

Summer 2020 NSERC USRA Student

Robotics, Sensors

jin.kim1@ucalgary.ca

Nan Tai

Nan Tai

(2019-2020)

nan.tai@ucalgary.ca

Jongwhi Park

Jongwhi Park

Visiting Grad Student from Hanyang University, S. Korea

Printed Electronics, Copper Ink

whdgnl35@gmail.com

Lei Liu

Lei Liu

CNC ink, PZT sensors (2018-2020)

lei.liu1@ucalgary.ca

Hogyun Lim

Hogyun Lim

Waterloo Mech Eng

Coop Student 2020

Pipeline Engineering

hogyun.lim@edu.uwaterloo.ca

Dr. Woong Ki Jang

Dr. Woong Ki Jang

Visiting Post-doc fellow

Stage Control (2020)

wkddndrl@kangwon.ac.kr

Andrew Chung

Andrew Chung

Chemistry, U of Calgary

Summer Student 2019

NIR Sensors and Sensor Fusion

sehyun.chung@ucalgary.ca

Leif Blake

Leif Blake

Fall 2020 Waterloo Coop

Sensors, COVID-19 Research

leif.blake@uwaterloo.ca 

Jenya Sergeeva

Jenya Sergeeva

Fall 2020 Waterloo Coop

Carbon fibers, electrospinning

esergeeva@uwaterloo.ca

Nathan Fischer

Nathan Fischer

Waterloo Coop

Fall Student 2019

ntfischer@edu.uwaterloo.ca

Dr. Jairo Alberto Duran

Dr. Jairo Alberto Duran

Post-doc fellow

Oil & Gas, Remediation (2019-2020)

jaduran@ucalgary.ca 

Brennan O’Yeung

Brennan O’Yeung

Mech. Eng, U of Calgary

NSERC USRA Student 2019

brennan.oyeung@ucalgary.ca

Kai Hefner

Kai Hefner

Waterloo Coop

Fall Student 2019

kai.hefner@edu.uwaterloo.ca 

Bhaskar Sen

Bhaskar Sen

National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, India

MITACS Visiting Student 2019

bhaskarsen1808@gmail.com

Eric Mclure

Eric

Jonathan Brent

Jonathan Brent

Mech. Eng, U of Calgary

NSERC USRA Student 2019

jonathan.brent1@ucalgary.ca

Aditya Narayan Malla

Aditya Narayan Malla

NIT Rourkela, India

MITACS Visiting Student 2019

aditya01korua@gmail.com

James Sukho Hwang

James Sukho Hwang

Mech Eng, UofCalgary

Summer Student 2019

sukho.hwang@ucalgary.ca

Justin Yoon

Justin Yoon

Mech Eng, UofCalgary

Summer Student 2019

dong.yoon@ucalgary.ca

Kelvin Tran

Kelvin Tran

Software Eng, UofCalgary

Summer Student 2019

kelvin.tran1@ucalgary.ca

Thomas Smith

Thomas Smith

Waterloo Coop

Summer Student 2019

tgmelvinsmith@edu.uwaterloo.ca

Noreen Abdelwahab

Noreen Abdelwahab

Mech Eng, UofCalgary

Summer Student 2019

noreen.abdelwahab@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Jesus Resendiz

Dr. Jesus Resendiz

Nano Mechanical Machining and Nano surface patterning

Conyct Scholarship Student, Graduted (2019)

jjresendizp@gmail.com 

Dr. Huan Liu

Dr. Huan Liu

Sensor Fusion, Nano Sensor, Control and Mechatronics

Graduated (2019)

huanliu14118@gmail.com

 

Zak Kockerbeck

Zak Kockerbeck

MSc Student

Flexible Electronics

zak.kockerbeck@gmail.com

Fahad Mikhael

Fahad Mikhael

University of Calgary

Mechanical Engineering

fahad.mikhael@ucalgary.ca

Alex Kai Wei

Alex Kai Wei

Waterloo Coop 2019

Remediations

akwei@edu.uwaterloo.ca

Dr. Mehdi Sanati

Dr. Mehdi Sanati

PhD Student/Post-doc

Dynamics, Joint Identifications, Chatter

Currently works at Wood Group

me.sanati85@gmail.com

 

Sam MacLeod

Sam MacLeod

Waterloo Coop 2019

Flexible Electronics

sam.macleod@edu.uwaterloo.ca

 

Yong Kim

Yong Kim

Summer Student 2018 

byeongyong.kim@ucalgary.ca

Danny Guo

Danny Guo

Internship Student 2018

University of Waterloo

danny.guo@edu.uwaterloo.ca

Heeju Jin

Heeju Jin

Summer Student 2018

heeju.jin@ucalgary.ca

Vicky Duan

Vicky Duan

Summer Student 2018

vicky.duan1@ucalgary.ca

Di Zhu
Minkyu Kim

Minkyu Kim

Summer Student 2018

minkyu.kim2@ucalgary.ca

Suji Choi

Suji Choi

Summer Student

Chemistry

suji.choi@ucalgary.ca

Joel Smith

Joel Smith

Undergraduate Research Assistant

Mechanical Engineering

jrsmi@ucalgary.ca

Benjamin Rene

Benjamin Rene

Summer Student 2018

benjamin.rene@viacesi.fr

Eric Cho

Eric Cho

Summer Student 2018

sungmok.cho1@ucalgary.ca