Site Navigation
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Academic Schedule
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student and Campus Services
Undergraduate Admissions
Academic Regulations
Co-operative Education/Internship
Tuition and General Fees
Awards and Financial Assistance
International Foundations Program
Faculty of Arts
Cumming School of Medicine
Faculty of Environmental Design
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Werklund School of Education
Continuing Education
About the University of Calgary
Who's Who
Board of Governors
Chancellors Emeriti
General Faculties Council
Honorary Degree Recipients
Members of the Order of the University of Calgary
Presidents Emeriti
Professors Emeriti
The Senate
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
University of Calgary Calendar 2016-2017 Who's Who The Senate
The Senate

The Post Secondary Learning Act 2003 states that it is the duty of the Senate to inquire into any matter that might benefit the University and enhance its position in the community.

The Senate also elects the Chancellor and authorizes the conferring of honorary degrees.

The Senate consists of the following:

Ex Officio Members: The chancellor who is chairperson, the president, the vice-president designated by the board, the chief student affairs officer, the director of continuing education, the president and vice-president of the Alumni Association.

Appointed Members: Two deans appointed by the Deans' Council, two members of the Board of Governors appointed by the Board, three members of the General Faculties Council appointed by the Council, two members of the Alumni Association appointed by the Association, nine members of the public appointed by the Minister, four students appointed by the Council of Students association, one graduate student appointed by the Graduate Students' Association, two non-academic staff members appointed by the non academic staff association.

Elected Members: Thirty representative members, elected by the Senate to represent, geographical areas and groups and organizations with an interest in the University.

In total there are 62 members of Senate, and currently a further 13 non-voting representatives of Faculties, Associations and Departments.