University of Calgary : University of Calgary: General Faculties Council

UofC " This Is Now

Search Calendar:

Site Navigation
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Fee Payment Deadlines
Academic Schedule
Examinations Schedule
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student Services
Undergraduate Admissions
Academic Regulations
Tuition and General Fees
English for Academic Purposes Program
Faculty of Arts
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Environmental Design
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Nursing
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Co-operative Education/Internship
Continuing Education
Awards and Financial Assistance
About the University of Calgary
Who's Who
Academic Staff
University of Calgary Students' Union
Board of Governors
Chancellors Emeriti
Global Reach
General Faculties Council
Honorary Degree Recipients
Members of the Order of the University of Calgary
Presidents Emeriti
Professors Emeriti
The Senate
Senior Administration
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
University of Calgary Calendar 2010-2011 Who's Who General Faculties Council
University of Calgary: General Faculties Council

Subject to the authority of the Board of Governors, General Faculties Council is primarily responsible for the academic affairs of the University. As stipulated in the Post-Secondary Learning Act, General Faculties Council consists of the following voting members:

  • the President (as Chair),
  • the Vice-Presidents,
  • the Dean of each Faculty,
  • the Director of each School
  • the chief librarian,
  • the director of extension, or equivalent officer
  • the Registrar,
  • elected academic staff members representing the Faculties,
  • two students nominated by the council of the Students' Union,
  • one student nominated by the council of the Graduate Students' Association, and
  • the appointed members, who include:
    • students representing each undergraduate Faculty,
    • the academic officer for student affairs,
    • the head of Information Technologies,
    • the President of the Faculty Association,
    • one representative of the Alumni Association,
    • one additional representative of the Graduate Students' Association,
    • one member elected by Student Enrolment Services, and
    • one member elected by the Library Council

Non-voting observers include:

  • two representatives from the Senate,
  • one representative from the Management and Professional Staff,
  • one representative from the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees, and
  • the Deputy Provost and Associate Vice-President (Academic)

The activity of the Board of Governors and the General Faculties Council is supported by the University Secretariat.

For a current General Faculties Council membership list, please refer to the University Secretariat website: