Site Navigation

Faculty of Science

I. Summary of Programs

Through its six Departments of Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geoscience, Mathematics and Statistics, and Physics and Astronomy, the Faculty of Science offers the programs listed below.

All BSc and BA programs within the Faculty normally require four years to complete, with the exception of the Combined Degree programs and the Co-operative Education/Internship programs that require at least five years.

Students starting their first year of university may enter any Science Major programs designated for first-year students. Students who are undecided about which program to choose should register in the Natural Sciences program in first year. While registered in this program, they should register in the first-year courses that are appropriate to the future program of their choice.

Admission to some programs is based on selection criteria as described in Section V (Program Details).

1. Undergraduate Programs

(Return to Top)

Details on undergraduate programs are given in Section V (Program Details).

Degree Programs Within the Faculty of Science

· BSc Major Programs

· BSc Honours Programs

· Co-operative/Internship BSc Major Programs

· Co-operative/Internship BSc Honours Programs

· BSc Double Major Programs

· BSc Double Honours Programs

· BSc/BSc Combined Degree Programs within the Faculty of Science

· Second Degree Programs following an appropriate first degree: BSc Major or BSc Honours Programs.

BA degrees may be conferred in programs in the Department of Computer Science if the program is part of a Double Major or Double Honours program with the second program in another Faculty that only awards BA degrees.

Collaborative Degree Programs

Single degree programs administered jointly by the Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Social Sciences:

· BSc Earth Science

· BSc Environmental Science.

Combined Degree Programs with Other Faculties

· BComm and BSc, administered jointly with the Haskayne School of Business.

· BSc and BA, administered jointly with the Faculty of Humanities.

· BSc (General Mathematics in Education) or BSc (Natural Sciences) and BEd (Master of Teaching Program), administered jointly with the Faculty of Education.

· BSc or BA (Science) and BSc or BA (Social Sciences), administered jointly with the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Minor Programs

Science Minors are available in the following subjects:

Actuarial Science, Applied and Environmental Geology, Applied Mathematics, Astrophysics, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Geology, Geophysics, Physics, Pure Mathematics, Statistics.

Pre-Professional Preparation for Degree Programs at this and Other Institutions

The Faculty of Science admits students only to its degree programs. However, students who wish to transfer to a professional program are advised to choose a Faculty of Science program that best fits their professional aspirations and which at the same time permits them to work toward completing the chosen Science program, i.e., it is important to simultaneously satisfy both Faculty of Science program requirements as well as pre-professional requirements.

· Dentistry - the University of Alberta, Edmonton.

· Medicine - the University of Calgary, University of Alberta and various other institutions.

· Optometry - the University of Waterloo, Ontario.

· Veterinary Medicine - the University of Calgary (starting in 2008) and the Western College of Veterinary Medicine, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan .

Students interested in applying to professional programs should contact the institution offering their desired program for details regarding the necessary pre-professional prerequisite requirements.

2. Graduate Programs

(Return to Top)

All Departments of the Faculty of Science offer graduate programs leading to Masters and Doctoral degrees. These programs are under the jurisdiction of the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

The normal preparation for graduate studies will be an Honours degree in the chosen subject.

Details on graduate programs are given in the Calendar of the Faculty of Graduate Studies.