Site Navigation

Honorary Degrees

The Senate of the University of Calgary has responsibility for selecting individuals to receive the University's highest academic honour - the Honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD). Honorary degrees are conferred by the Chancellor to recognize extraordinary achievement in community, national or international service and to honour those individuals whose accomplishments are of such excellence that they provide, through example, inspiration and leadership to the graduates of the University. Contributions may have been made in any field of endeavour, including the arts, business, the professions, scholarly endeavours and voluntary activities. Normally excluded from consideration are those currently holding elected office, as well as current members of the University community. For more information, contact or telephone (403) 220-658l.