University of Calgary : University of Calgary: Board of Governors

UofC " This Is Now

Search Calendar:

Site Navigation
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Fee Payment Deadlines
Academic Schedule
Examinations Schedule
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student Services
Undergraduate Admissions
Academic Regulations
Tuition and General Fees
English for Academic Purposes Program
Faculty of Arts
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Environmental Design
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Co-operative Education/Internship
Continuing Education
Awards and Financial Assistance
About the University of Calgary
Who's Who
University of Calgary Students' Union
Board of Governors
Chancellors Emeriti
Global Reach
General Faculties Council
Honorary Degree Recipients
Members of the Order of the University of Calgary
Presidents Emeriti
Professors Emeriti
The Senate
Senior Administration
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
University of Calgary Calendar 2012-2013 Who's Who Board of Governors
University of Calgary: Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is a body established by the Post-secondary Learning Act, a statute of the Province of Alberta. The Act vests in the Board the duty to develop the University mandate and grants the authority to manage and operate the public post secondary institution in accordance with its mandate; develop, manage and operate, alone or in co-operation with any person or organization, programs, services and facilities for the educational or cultural advancement of the people of Alberta.

The Board of Governors is the corporate entity of the University. Land titles, agreements and leases bear the name The Governors of the University of Calgary.

The members of the Board of Governors, as trustees, hold the University in trust for the people of the Province of Alberta.

The Board consists of the following members:

  • a chair of the board appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council;
  • the chancellor of the university;
  • the president of the university;
  • two alumni of the university, nominated by the alumni association;
  • one member of the senate nominated by the other members of the senate;
  • two members of the academic staff of the university, one of whom is nominated by the general faculties council and one of whom is nominated by the academic staff association;
  • two students nominated by the council of the students association;
  • one graduate student nominated by the council of the graduate students' association;
  • one member of the non-academic staff nominated by the non-academic staff association;
  • not more than nine members representative of the general public, in addition to the chair, appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

For a current Board of Governors membership list, please refer to the University Secretariat website: