University of Calgary : 1. Summary of Programs

UofC " This Is Now

Search Calendar:

Site Navigation
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Fee Payment Deadlines
Academic Schedule
Examinations Schedule
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student Services
Undergraduate Admissions
Academic Regulations
Tuition and General Fees
English for Academic Purposes Program
Faculty of Arts
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Environmental Design
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
1. Summary of Programs
2. Faculty Student Affairs
3. Faculty Regulations
4. Administration
5. Program Details
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Co-operative Education/Internship
Continuing Education
Awards and Financial Assistance
About the University of Calgary
Who's Who
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
University of Calgary Calendar 2012-2013 Faculty of Science 1. Summary of Programs
1. Summary of Programs
Degrees Offered
Environmental Science Natural Sciences Neuroscience Biological Sciences Chemistry Computer Science Geoscience Mathematics & Statistics Physics & Astronomy
          BA Honours      
BSc BSc   BSc BSc BSc BSc BSc BSc
BSc Honours BSc Honours BSc Honours BSc Honours BSc Honours BSc Honours BSc Honours BSc Honours BSc Honours
      BSc Co-op BSc Co-op BSc INTE   BSc Co-op  
      BSc Honours Co-op BSc Honours Co-op BSc Honours INTE   BSc Honours Co-op  
          BComm/BSc1     BComm/BSc1  
  BSc/BA2 BSc Honours/BA2 BSc/BA2 BSc/BA2 BSc/BA2 BSc/BA2 BSc/BA2 BSc/BA2
  BSc/BEd3           BSc/BEd3  
      MSc MSc MSc MSc MSc MSc
      PhD PhD PhD PhD PhD PhD

1Combined Degree with the Haskayne School of Business

2Combined Degree with the Faculty of Arts

3Concurrent Degree with the Faculty of Education

Through its six Departments of Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geoscience, Mathematics and Statistics, and Physics and Astronomy, the Faculty of Science offers the programs listed below.

All BSc and BA programs within the Faculty normally require four years to complete, with the exception of the Combined Degree programs and the Co-operative Education/Internship programs that require at least five years.

Students starting their first year of university may enter any Science Major programs designated for first-year students. Students who are undecided about which program to choose should register in the Natural Sciences program in first year. While registered in this program, they should register in the first-year courses that are appropriate to the future program of their choice.

Admission to some programs is based on selection criteria as described in Section 5 (Program Details).

Undergraduate Programs

Details on undergraduate programs are given in Section 5 (Program Details).

Degree Programs Within the Faculty of Science

  • BSc Major Programs
  • BSc Honours Programs
  • Co-operative/Internship BSc Major Programs
  • Co-operative/Internship BSc Honours Programs
  • BSc Double Major Programs
  • BSc Double Honours Programs
  • BSc/BSc Combined Degree Programs within the Faculty of Science
  • Second Degree Programs following an appropriate first degree: BSc Major or BSc Honours Programs

BA degrees may be conferred in programs in the Department of Computer Science if the program is part of a Double Major or Double Honours program with the second program in another Faculty that only awards BA degrees.

Combined or Concurrent Degree Programs with Other Faculties

  • BSc or BA (Science) and BSc or BA (Arts), administered jointly with the Faculty of Arts.
  • BComm and BSc, administered jointly with the Haskayne School of Business.
  • BSc (General Mathematics in Education) or BSc (Natural Sciences) and BEd, administered jointly with the Faculty of Education.

Minor Programs

Science Minors are available in the following subjects:

Actuarial Science, Applied Mathematics, Astrophysics, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geology, Geophysics, Nanoscience, Physics, Pure Mathematics, Statistics.

Pre-Professional Preparation for Degree Programs at this and Other Institutions

The Faculty of Science admits students only to its degree programs. However, students who wish to transfer to a professional program are advised to choose a Faculty of Science program that best fits their professional aspirations and which at the same time permits them to work toward completing the chosen Science program, i.e., it is important to simultaneously satisfy both Faculty of Science program requirements as well as pre-professional requirements.

  • Dentistry - the University of Alberta, Edmonton.
  • Medicine - the University of Calgary, University of Alberta and various other institutions.
  • Optometry - the University of Waterloo, Ontario.
  • Veterinary Medicine - the University of Calgary and the Western College of Veterinary Medicine, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Students interested in applying to professional programs should contact the institution offering their desired program for details regarding the necessary pre-professional prerequisite requirements.

Graduate Programs

All Departments of the Faculty of Science offer graduate programs leading to Masters and Doctoral degrees. These programs are under the jurisdiction of the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

The normal preparation for graduate studies will be an Honours degree in the chosen subject.

Details on graduate programs are given in the Calendar of the Faculty of Graduate Studies.