Office of Advancement

Connecting with our communities

Our role is to understand what our communities want and need from their university, and to invite them to be a part of all that we have to offer. We do this through the stories we tell, by promoting life-changing research breakthroughs we make, through the events we create and the experiences we cultivate, and by providing opportunities for people to make gifts through the university that have an impact on what's meaningful to them.

A message from Nuvyn Peters, Vice-President (Advancement)

"Great cities are anchored by great universities. The University of Calgary has an impact on the lives of our community members, our students, our faculty and staff, every single day. We help shape and guide the future direction of our city and our community."

Our departments

Advancement Services

This team supports and guides fundraising, alumni engagement and communications efforts across UCalgary through gifts acceptance and management, alumni and donor research and prospect services, impact and financial reporting and data management. 

Key Contacts:
Alyson Kenward, Executive Director
(403) 220-8254
alyson.kenward1@ucalgary.ca


Alumni Engagement

This team works closely with the University of Calgary Alumni Association to engage more than 185,000 graduates around the world. Our aim is to strengthen the relationships alumni have with each other and with the university while fostering their individual and professional growth. We offer exclusive events and programs, career development resources and opportunities to align personal goals with university priorities through volunteer experiences and annual giving.

Key Contacts:
Michael Sclafani, Associate Vice-President, Alumni Engagement & Partnerships
(403) 220-7994
michael.sclafani@ucalgary.ca

 
Colleen Bangs, Director, Alumni Leadership Engagement & Recognition
(403) 220-5301
csbangs@ucalgary.ca

Jennifer DeDominicis, Director, Alumni Programs
(403) 220-8552
jennifer.dedominicis@ucalgary.ca

 

Salman Jivani, Director of Development, Annual Giving
(403) 220-8142
sjivani@ucalgary.ca


Community Engagement

This team develops partnerships with key stakeholders, such as the Calgary Stampede and Calgary Economic Development, to engage with and provide value to our broader community. We also host events that connect our alumni, donors and other community members with the latest and greatest in education and research at UCalgary.


Key Contacts:
Kristin Anderson, Associate Vice-President, Community Engagement
kristin.anderson@ucalgary.ca

Sheila Wasylyshyn, Director - Community Engagement
(403) 220-8086
swasylys@ucalgary.ca


Vanessa Ferriera, Executive Director - Strategic Events
403.220.8615
vanessa.ferriera@ucalgary.ca


Development

This team matches donors’ passions with the needs of the university through the current $1.3 billion Energize campaign. 

Key Contacts:
Andrea Morris, Associate Vice-President & Chief Development Officer
(403) 220-2972
andrea.morris@ucalgary.ca


Cheryl Hamelin, Executive Director of Development, Faculty Development
(403) 220-5354
cheryl.hamelin@ucalgary.ca

Kathleen MacPherson, Executive Director, Institutional Development
(403) 210-7337 
kathleen.macpherson@ucalgary.ca

Janelle Wakaruk, Executive Director of Development, Cumming School of Medicine
(403) 220-6161
jwakaruk@ucalgary.ca


Strategic Communications and Marketing

This team builds UCalgary's brand and reputation and promotes UCalgary's value proposition among its key audiences. Our areas of focus include media relations, content, publications, marketing and communications campaigns, digital experience and brand and creative strategy.

Key contacts:
Corey Hogan, Senior Associate Vice-President, Strategic Communications and Marketing 
(403) 220-7852
corey.hogan@ucalgary.ca


Dean Parthenis, Senior Manager, Media and Issues Management
(403) 210-6815

dparthen@ucalgary.ca


Brand and creative inquiries:
brand@ucalgary.ca


Office of the Vice-President

Key Contacts:
Kaelyn Michayluk, Executive Assistant to Nuvyn Peters, Vice-President (Advancement)
(403) 210-9825
klmicha1@ucalgary.ca


Shauna Smalldon, Director of Operations
(403) 210-8628
smalldos@ucalgary.ca