The Isaac Starr Lecture

1976 Isaac Starr,M.D.: On the meaning and significance of the cardiodynamic effects which can be easily measured in man.
1978 Harold J. C. Swan,M.D.: Invasive and noninvasive monitoring of cardiovascular dynamics in clinical practice.
1980 Charles Hufnagel,M.D.: The effects of prostheses on peripheral hemodynamics.
1982 Julien I.E. Hoffman,M.D.: The effects of myocardial contraction on its microcirculation.
1984 Kenneth M. Spyer,Ph.D.: Studies on the nervous control of the heart.
1986 Thomas Kenner,M.D.,Ph.D.: Assessment and modeling of cardiovascular variables.
1988 Antonio L'Abbate,M.D.: Pathophysiological and methodological pitfalls in the invasive and non invasive assessment of coronary reserve in man.
1992 Robert S. Reneman,Ph.D.: Adaptation of the left ventricular and arterial walls under pathological circumstances - mechanical and molecular aspects.
1994 Edward L. Yellin,Ph.D.: The momentum of mass, the momentum of ideas, and diastolic function.
1996 Robert H. Anderson,M.D.: Cardiac anatomy revisited.
1998 Prof. Dr. Dirk L. Brutsaert: The role of the endocardial endothelium in cardiac function.
2000 Kenji Sunagawa, M.D., Ph.D.: Neural modulation of the circulation: approaching an artificial brain.
2002 Nico Westerhoff Ph.D.:  The determinants of blood pressure.
2004 Jos A.E. Spaan, Ph.D.:  The endothelial glycocalyx and other determinants of coronary blood flow.
2006 David Kass: Effects of arterial stiffening and ventriculo-arterial coupling.
2008 W Jonathan Lederer, M.D., Ph.D.:  Calcium signaling and calcium sparks in myocytes
2010 Daniel Burkhoff, M.D., Ph.D.: Left Ventricular Assist Devices: A Bridge to the Future

The Konrad Witzig Memorial Lecture

1976 Max Anliker,Ph.D.: Konrad Witzig's theoretical analysis of waves in fluid-filled tubes and current studies of pulsatile blood flow in man.
1978 Brian J. Bellhouse,Ph.D.: Some fluid mechanic theories and their application to the design of heart valves  and membrane linings.
1980 Robert S. Reneman,M.D.,Ph.D.: What measurements are necessary for a comprehensive evaluation of the peripheral arterial circulation?
1982 James B. Bassingthwaighte,M.D.,Ph.D.: Current knowledge of the dynamics of the microcirculation of the heart.
1984 Yuan Cheng Fung,Ph.D.: An engineer's approach to the pulmonary circulation.
1986 Robert M. Nerem,Ph.D.: The dynamic response of living cells to mechanical stress.
1988 Abraham Noordergraaf,Ph.D.: Elements of ventricular performance.
1992 Jan Baan, Ph.D.: Ventricular pump function: its physiological basis and clinical assessment.
1994 Hiroyuki Suga,M.D., D.M.Sc.: How we view systolic function of the heart -Emax and PVA.
1996 Stephen F. Vatner, M.D.: Understanding heart failure through an integrative approach - from molecular biology to ventricular function.
1998 Michael F. O'Rourke, M.D., D.Sc.: Interaction of the heart and arterial load in health and disease.
2000 Jonathan S. Stamler, M.D.: Nitric oxide modulation of cardiovascular function: myocytes to hemoglobin.
2002 William M. Chilian, Ph.D.:  Control of coronary vasomotor tone:  evidence for hierarchial regulatory mechanisms and a new paradigm for communication between cardiac myocytes and endothelial cells.
2004 R. John Solaro, Ph.D.:  Molecular and integrated biology of thin filament protein phosphorylation in heart muscle.
2006 Andrew McCulloch:  Functionally and structurally integrated computational modeling of ventricular physiology
2008 Pieter P. de Tombe, Ph.D.:  Sarcomere dynamics in health and disease
2010 William C. Little, M.D.:  Left Ventricular Diastolic Function: More than Distensibility

Back to the top




Kiichi Sagawa Young Investigator’s Award

Nico Westerhof Award for “Striking New Concepts” by Beginning Investigators

Ed Yellin “Integrative Cardiovascular Physiology” Award

Dr. Kiichi Sagawa was a Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the Johns Hopkins University and is considered by many to be the founder of the Pressure-Volume Relationship concept of the heart (Professors Suga and Sunagawa are but two of the many prominent cardiovascular investigators that trained with Professor Sagawa).  Kiichi Sagawa passed away in the fall of 1989, much too soon at and the pinnacle of his career.  Initiated by his former students and endowed by a generous gift from the Millar company, The Kiichi Sagawa Young Investigator’s Award was established in 1992.


Dr. Nico Westerhof retired in 2002 as Professor of Physiology at the Free University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands.  He is regarded as one of the “spiders” who have created the web linking basic cardiovascular research to clinical applications. He has contributed greatly to our knowledge of the heart and the circulation. Who hasn't heard of his three-element Windkessel concept of the arterial system or of his elastance concept that describes the influence of cardiac contraction on coronary blood flow?

Dr. Ed Yellin retired in the 1990s as Professor of Physiology at the Albert Einstein University, New York (Dr. Yellin always referred to it as “The Bronx”).  Dr. Yellin has made seminal contributions to our understanding of the relaxation and the filling of the heart and has trained many distinguished cardiovascular scientists over the years.  Recently, Dr. Yellin’s family has created an endowment to allow for the establishment of an award competition in his name to be held at the CSDS meetings. The award competition will be held for the first time at the July 1-4 CSDS meeting in Banff.


Eligibility criteria

Applicants with less than 8 years post-doctoral experience may compete for this Award.  They need not be members of the Cardiovascular Systems Dynamics Society.  On the basis of the same research work, qualified applicants may compete for the Nico Westerhof Award but not for the Ed Yellin Award.


Eligibility criteria

Students completing their doctoral degrees (MD, PhD) and young post-doctoral fellows who, at the date of the CSDS meeting, are no more than 3 years from the date their degree was awarded are eligible for this award.  On the basis of the same research work, qualified applicants may compete for the Kiichi Sagawa Young Investigator’s Award but not for the Ed Yellin Award.


Eligibility criteria

The Ed Yellin Award has been established to reward research that promotes improved understanding of cardiovascular dynamics by exploring the relationships between cellular and organ-level function.  If the research is primarily molecular/cellular, then, in keeping with the roots of the Cardiovascular Systems Dynamic Society, the relevance to cardiovascular function should be thoroughly and clearly introduced and discussed.  Similarly, if the research is primarily at the organ/systems level, then the work should thoroughly and clearly introduce and discuss issues that are accessible to study at the molecular/cellular level. Qualified applicants may not concurrently compete in the other award categories based on the same work (i.e. Kiichi Sagawa Young Investigator’s or the Nico Westerhof Awards).  There is no age limitation for this award.



Kiichi Sagawa Young Investigator's Award

1994 Pieter P. de Tombe, Ph.D.
1996 Martijn A. Vis, Ph.D.
1998  Paul M.L. Janssen, Ph.D.
2000 Dimitrios Georgakopoulos, Ph.D.
2002 Hiroyuki Nakayama, Ph.D.
2004 Veronica Rundell, Ph.D.
2006 Kevin Vernooy
2008 Benjamin van der Smissen
2010 Asuka Hatano, Ph.D.

Nico Westerhof Trainee's Award

2002 Dimitrios Georgakopoulos, Ph.D.
2004 Michael Stickland, Ph.D.
2006 Borut Kirn
2008 Leonid Shmuylovich
2010 Evelien Hermeling, Ph.D.


Ed Yellin “Integrative Cardiovascular Physiology” Award

2004 Veronica Gambillara, Ph.D.
2006 Melody Schwartz
2008 not awarded
2010 Yoshihoko Kakinuma, M.D., Ph.D.



Back to the top