University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Department of Physiology & Pharmacology


As the largest basic science department in the Cumming School of Medicine, Physiology and Pharmacology members represent five of the School's seven research institutes - the Hotchkiss Brain Institute, the Snyder Institute for Chronic Diseases, the Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta, the Arnie Charbonneau Cancer Institute and the Alberta Children’s Hospital Research Institute for Child and Maternal Health.

The strength of the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology lies in our outstanding faculty, staff and students, all of whom take pride in a strong commitment to excellence in research and education.

On behalf of our department, you are invited to explore our website. Don’t hesitate to contact us if you wish more information.


Wallace MacNaughton, PhD

Professor and Head, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology

Department News

The department would like to welcome Dr. Nick Goulding of the William Harvey Research Institute, London. He will be with us for July and August and will be working with our medical education groups regarding the teaching of pharmacology to undergraduate and post-graduate medical students. Nick's research interest is in the action of glucocorticoids in inflammation diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis. 

A huge congratulations to Maria Bernard from Dr. Marc Poulin's lab has joined the Canadian Olympic Team and will be representing Canada in Rio this August! Join us in wishing Maria the best of luck!

Congratulations to Andrew Beaudin from Dr. Poulin’s lab for receiving the graduate David Proud Research Award.

Congrats to Dr. Tamas Fuzesi from the Bains lab and Dr. Bas Surewaard from the Kubes lab for receiving the PDF David Proud Research Awards. Well done gentlemen!

Members of the Education committee would also like to recognize Dr. Shuai Lui of Dr. Borgland’s lab and Dr. Fernando Lopes of Dr. McKay’s lab who were given honorable mentions for their PDF David Proud Research Award applications.

Congratulations to Chelsea Matisz, a PhD student from the McKay lab who was awarded a Dean’s Doctoral Scholarship!

Join us on Facebook and Twitter

Upcoming Events

Nipgit 2016
Banff Centre
30 September - 2 October 
For more information, please visit the website at