

General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PROGRAM SUBCOMMITTEE AGENDA

January 22, 2024, 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm

2:30pm start time

Location: AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom Zoom Meeting ID: <u>942 6111 1274</u> Passcode: APS

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Traditional Land Acknowledgment	Dambrowitz	Verbal 2:30	
	Approval of the Agenda	Burns	Document	
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Burns	Verbal	2:35
Actio	n Items		•	
3.	Approval of the November 6, 2023 Minutes	Benoit/Burns	Document	2:45
4.	Recommendation for the Addition of a Practical Experience Requirement (PER) to the Graduation Requirements for Engineering Majors	Singh/Rosehart	Document	2:50
5.	Recommendation for the Creation of the Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Energy Science and the Minor in Energy Science, Faculty of Science	Wheatley/ Hastings-Simon	Document	3:15
Inform	nation Items			
6.	Status of Program Approvals Report	In-Package Only	Document	-
7.	Other Business	Benoit/Burns	Verbal	3:45
8.	Adjournment	Benoit/Burns	Verbal	4:00
	Next Meeting: March 4, 2024			

MEMBERSHIP LIST & ATTENDANCE

GFC ACADEMIC PRO	Quorum = 5				
Name	Appointment Type	Position and/or Faculty	Term	Attendance/ Notes	
Voting Members					
Wendy Benoit	Co-Chair	Interim Vice-Provost, Teaching & Learning	ex-officio		
Amy Burns	Academic Co-Chair	Named and appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Getachew Assefa	GFC Member appointed by GFC Executive Committee	School of Architecture, Landscape and Planning	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Cari Gulbrandsen	Appointed by GFC Executive Committee	Faculty of Social Work	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Samantha Thrift		Faculty of Arts	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Leanne Wu		Faculty of Science	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Amy Dambrowitz	Registrar		ex-officio		
Qiao Sun	Academic Co-Chair of the Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee		July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Sandra Amin	Appointed by the SU	Vice-President Academic, Students' Union	May 1, 2023– April 30, 2024		
Non-Voting Membe	rs			·	
Christine Johns	Senior Director, Program Innovation and Planning		ex-officio		
Leighton Wilks	TUCFA Representative	Haskayne School of Business	July 1, 2023– June 30, 2024		
Secretariat Staff		-			
Courtney McVie	University Secretary				
Michelle Speta	Meeting Secretary				
Holly Lywin	Scribe				
Invited Guests					
Bill Rosehart Dean, Schulich School of Engineering – attending for Item 4					
Meera Singh	Senior Associate Dean (Academic), Schulich School of Engineering – attending for Item 4				
Sara Hastings-	Associate Professor (Department of Earth, Energy, and Environment), Faculty of				
Simon	Science – attending for Item 5				
Bronwen Wheatley	Assistant Professor, Teaching (Department of Chemistry), Faculty of Science – attending for Item 5				
Nancy Chibry	Associate Dean (Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs), Faculty of Science – attending for Item 5				
Joanne Fung		ator, Faculty of Science – attending f	or Item 5		
Resource Personnel	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
Jaclyn Carter	ILT Consultant, Taylor Institute				
Elizabeth Pando	Program Innovation Partner,				
Jessica Revington	Program Proposal Assistant,	-			