

General Faculties Council Academic Planning and Priorities Committee Agenda

A167/Zoom

Zoom Meeting ID: 918 2064 2316

Passcode: APPC

Monday, February 24, 2025, 2:00 p.m. Meeting #185

Item	Description	Presenter	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Meeting Opening			2:00
	1.1 Approval of the Agenda	Yates/ Johnston	Document	
	1.2 Traditional Land Acknowledgement	Yates/ Johnston	Verbal	
	1.3 Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Yates/ Johnston	Verbal	
	Action Items			
2.	Approval of the February 3, 2025 Meeting Minutes	Yates/ Johnston	Document	2:10
3.	Approval of the Master of Environmental Design (MEDes) Program Changes: Degree Name Change and Specialization Terminations	Wylant	Document	2:15
4.	Approval of the Termination of the University of Calgary in Qatar (UCQ) Academic Programs	Yates	Document	2:45
	Information Items			
5.	Subcommittee Reports a. Report on the January 22, 2025 Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee Meeting b. Report on the January 23, 2025 Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee Meeting	In-package only	Document	-
6.	Program Approvals Status Report	In-package only	Document	-
7.	Other Business	Yates/ Johnston	Verbal	2:55
8.	Adjournment	Yates/ Johnston	Verbal	3:00
	Next Meeting: Monday, March 10, 2025			

Name	Membership (Appointment Type)	Term	Attendance
Voting Members (Quorum: 5)			
Robin Yates	Deputy Provost (delegate of the Provost and	N/A	
Co-Chair	Vice-President Academic, ex-officio)		
Dawn Johnston	Academic staff member, Faculty of Arts	July 1, 2022 –	
Academic Co-Chair	(appointed by GFC EC)	June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Academic staff member, Faculty of Science	July 1, 2022 –	
	(GFC member appointed by GFC EC)	June 30, 2025	
Vacant	Academic staff member (appointed by GFC EC)	_	_
Cydnee Seneviratne	Academic staff member, Faculty of Nursing	July 1, 2023 –	
	(GFC member appointed by GFC EC)	June 30, 2026	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Teaching and Learning	N/A	
	Committee (ex-officio)		
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair, Research and Scholarship	N/A	
	Committee (ex-officio)		
Kristin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science (appointed by Dean's	July 1, 2022 –	
	Council)	June 30, 2025	
Michael Hart	Vice-Provost, Indigenous Engagement	N/A	
	(ex-officio)		
Vacant	Executive Director, Office of Institutional	N/A	_
	Commitments (ex-officio)		
Ermia Rezaei-Afsah	Undergraduate student (appointed by the SU)	May 1, 2024 –	
		April 30, 2025	
Saaka Sulemana Saaka	Graduate student (appointed by the GSA)	May 27, 2024 –	
		April 30, 2025	
Non-Voting Members			1
Tarun Aggarwal	Appointed by the Alberta Union of Provincial	July 1, 2024 –	
	Employees, Local 52 (AUPE)	June 30, 2027	
Hannah Ashton	Appointed by the Management and	July 1, 2022 –	
	Professional Staff (MaPS) Executive	June 30, 2025	
	Committee		
Justine Wheeler	Appointed by the Faculty Association (TUCFA)	March 1, 2024 –	
		June 30, 2025	
Vacant	Delegate of the Deputy Provost	N/A	_
Secretariat Staff	I		T
Courtney McVie	University Secretary		
Michelle Speta	Scribe		
Resource Personnel	T		I
Christine Johns	Associate Deputy Provost		
Observers			I
Kelly Hoglund			
Elizabeth Pando	Program Innovation Partner		
Janelle Morris	Program Innovation Partner		
Jessica Revington	Program Proposal Assistant		
Kelly Kay Spurlock	Analyst, Planning and Reviews		
Guests			1
Tara Beattie	·		Item 3
Barry Wylant	Graduate Program Director (MEDes, PhD), SAPL		Item 3