

General Faculties Council Academic Planning and Priorities Committee Agenda

A167/Zoom

Zoom Meeting ID: 918 2064 2316

Passcode: APPC

Monday, November 18, 2024, 2:00 p.m. Meeting #181

Item	Description	Presenter	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Meeting Opening			2:00
	1.1 Approval of the Agenda	Yates/ Johnston	Document	
	1.2 Traditional Land Acknowledgement	Yates/ Johnston	Verbal	
	1.3 Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Yates/ Johnston	Verbal	
	Action Items			
2.	Approval of the October 7, 2024 Meeting Minutes	Yates/ Johnston	Document	2:10
3.	Approval of the Creation of the Clinical Neuroscience and Physiological Behavioural Neuroscience Concentrations for the Bachelor of Science in Neuroscience	Flynn/ Summers	Document	2:15
4.	Approval of the Creation of the Workplace Conflict Management Certificate (Non-credit), Continuing Education	LeBlanc	Document	2:40
	Discussion Items			
5.	Faculty of Arts Unit Review Report	Gibbs Van Brunschot	Document	3:05
	Information Items			
6.	APPC Committee Membership Report	McVie	Document	3:30
7.	Subcommittee Reports: a. Report on the September 19, 2024 Calendar and Curriculum	In-package only	Document	-
	Subcommittee meeting b. Report on the October 17, 2024 Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee meeting			
	c. Report on the October 21, 2024 Academic Program Subcommittee meeting			
8.	Program Approvals Status Report	In-package only	Document	-
9.	Other Business	Yates/ Johnston	Verbal	-

Item	Description	Presenter	Materials	Estimated Time
10.	Adjournment	Yates/ Johnston	Verbal	4:00
	Next Meeting: Monday, December 9, 2024			

Name	Membership (Appointment Type)	Term	Attendance
Voting Members (Quorum: 7)			
Robin Yates	Deputy Provost (delegate of the Provost and	N/A	
Co-Chair	Vice-President Academic, ex-officio)	,	
Dawn Johnston	Academic staff member, Faculty of Arts	July 1, 2022 –	
Academic Co-Chair	(appointed by GFC EC)	June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Academic staff member, Faculty of Science	July 1, 2022 –	
	(GFC member appointed by GFC EC)	June 30, 2025	
Marjan Eggermont	Academic staff member, Schulich School of	July 1, 2022 –	
	Engineering (appointed by GFC EC)	June 30, 2025	
Cydnee Seneviratne	Academic staff member, Faculty of Nursing	July 1, 2023 –	
	(GFC member appointed by GFC EC)	June 30, 2026	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Teaching and Learning	N/A	
	Committee (ex-officio)		
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair, Research and Scholarship	N/A	
	Committee (ex-officio)		
Kristin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science (appointed by Dean's	July 1, 2022 –	
	Council)	June 30, 2025	
Michael Hart	Vice-Provost, Indigenous Engagement	N/A	
	(ex-officio)		
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion	N/A	
	(ex-officio)		
Ermia Rezaei-Afsah	Undergraduate student (appointed by the SU)	May 1, 2024 –	
		April 30, 2025	
Saaka Sulemana Saaka	Graduate student (appointed by the GSA)	May 27, 2024 –	
		April 30, 2025	
Non-Voting Members			
Tarun Aggarwal	Appointed by the Alberta Union of Provincial	July 1, 2024 –	
	Employees, Local 52 (AUPE)	June 30, 2027	
Hannah Ashton	Appointed by the Management and	July 1, 2022 –	
	Professional Staff (MaPS) Executive	June 30, 2025	
	Committee		
Justine Wheeler	Appointed by the Faculty Association (TUCFA)	March 1, 2024 –	
		June 30, 2025	
Vacant	Delegate of the Deputy Provost	N/A	_
Secretariat Staff			
Courtney McVie	University Secretary		
Michelle Speta	Scribe		
Resource Personnel			
Christine Johns	Associate Deputy Provost		
Observers			
Kelly Hoglund	Senior Specialist, Academic Initiatives		
Elizabeth Pando	Program Innovation Partner		
Kelly Kay Spurlock	Analyst, Planning and Reviews		
Guests			
Corey Flynn	Director, Neuroscience Program, Faculty of Science		Item 3
Mindi Summers	Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs, Faculty of Science		Item 3
/endy Benoit Co-Chair, Academic Program Subcommittee		Item 3	
Sheila LeBlanc	Associate Vice-President, Continuing Education		Item 4

MacDonald Oguike	Director, Corporate Training and Workforce Development Program, Continuing Education	Item 4
Dona Wanshika	Program Manager, Corporate Training and Workforce Development Program, Continuing Education	Item 4
Erin Gibbs Van Brunschot	Vice-Dean, Faculty of Arts	Item 5
Aoife Mac Namara	Dean, Faculty of Arts	Item 5