Site Navigation
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Academic Schedule
Types of Credentials and Sub-Degree Nomenclature
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student and Campus Services
Academic Regulations
Co-operative Education/Internship
Tuition and General Fees
Awards and Financial Assistance
International Foundations Program
Faculty of Arts
Cumming School of Medicine
Faculty of Environmental Design
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Werklund School of Education
Embedded Certificates
Continuing Education
About the University of Calgary
Who's Who
Board of Governors
Chancellors Emeriti
General Faculties Council
Honorary Degree Recipients
Members of the Order of the University of Calgary
Presidents Emeriti
Professors Emeriti
The Senate
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
University of Calgary Calendar 2018-2019 Who's Who Board of Governors
University of Calgary: Board of Governors

The Board of Governors oversees the management and operation of the University’s business and affairs. The Board oversees the development of the overarching strategic direction and policy framework for the University, ensures that the University’s activities are consistent with its mandate, oversees the efficient and effective use of financial and human resources to meet institutional objectives and ensures that institutional risk is appropriately managed. These duties are mainly discharged through oversight of the President and senior officers, who are responsible for the management and day-to-day operation of the University. In this way, the Board assumes responsibility for the stewardship of the University.

The Board is established by the Post-Secondary Learning Act and is a corporation named "The Governors of the University of Calgary".

The Board consists of the following members:

  • a chair of the board appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council;
  • the chancellor of the university;
  • the president of the university;
  • two alumni of the university, nominated by the alumni association;
  • one member of the senate nominated by the other members of the senate;
  • two members of the academic staff of the university, one of whom is nominated by the general faculties council and one of whom is nominated by the academic staff association;
  • two students nominated by the council of the students association;
  • one graduate student nominated by the council of the graduate students' association;
  • one member of the non-academic staff nominated by the non-academic staff association;
  • not more than nine members representative of the general public, in addition to the chair, appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

For more information on the Board of Governors, please visit: