Site Navigation

The official academic calendar is transitioning to a new software platform and will be in effect for the 2024/2025 Academic Calendar. Please click here to view a prototype version.

Important Notice and Disclaimer
Academic Schedule
Types of Credentials and Sub-Degree Nomenclature
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student and Campus Services
Academic Regulations
Experiential Learning
Tuition and General Fees
Student Financial Support
Architecture, Planning and Landscape, School of
Faculty of Arts
Cumming School of Medicine
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
1. Summary of Programs
2. Faculty Student Affairs
3. Faculty Regulations
4. Program Details
4.1 Biological Sciences
4.2 Chemistry
4.3 Computer Science
4.4 Earth, Energy, and Environment
4.5 Mathematics and Statistics
4.6 Non-Departmental Programs: Data Science, Environmental Science, Nanoscience, Natural Sciences, Neuroscience
4.6.1 Data Science
4.6.2 Environmental Science Program Requirements Double Major and Combined Degree Programs
4.6.3 Nanoscience
4.6.4 Natural Sciences
4.6.5 Neuroscience
4.7 Physics and Astronomy
4.8 Science Internship Program
5. Administration
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Werklund School of Education
Embedded Certificates
Continuing Education
About the University of Calgary
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
University of Calgary Calendar 2023-2024 Faculty of Science 4. Program Details 4.6 Non-Departmental Programs: Data Science, Environmental Science, Nanoscience, Natural Sciences, Neuroscience 4.6.2 Environmental Science
4.6.2 Environmental Science
Programs Offered

BSc in Environmental Science

BSc in Environmental Science Internship

BSc Honours in Environmental Science

BSc Honours in Environmental Science Internship

The Environmental Science program is a single, four-year multidisciplinary program offered by the Faculty of Science with collaboration from the Faculty of Arts. This multidisciplinary program is flexible in scope. Students must select one of six areas of concentration: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geography, Geology, Physics, or Statistics.

For program advice, see the Program Director and/or the Undergraduate Science Centre (USC).

Program vs Faculty Regulations

The Environmental Science program is governed by a combination of general Faculty of Science and Faculty of Arts regulations, as well as the additional program specific regulations listed below. In cases where the regulations of the two Faculties are different, students in the Environmental Science program will follow the regulations listed in the Faculty of Science section.

It is essential for students to be familiar with all regulations and it is helpful to read Section 3 of the Faculty of Science regulations first.

Program Information

Office: Science B 149

Telephone: 403.220.8600



Admission and Enrolment Limitations

Enrolment is limited in the Environmental Science program. Students may be admitted directly into the Environmental Science program and, once admitted, a place in the program is assured for students advancing through the second and subsequent years with satisfactory performance. Admission will be granted for Fall Term only and will be based upon academic merit.

As space permits, a certain number of students who wish to gain admission to the second or third year of the program by transferring from other institutions or programs will be accepted. Any student requesting admission at this level must meet a competitive grade point average calculated over the most recent course work, to a maximum of 30 units. The competitive grade point average will be established annually and will not be lower than 2.50. Students applying for admission must meet the competitive admission average of their chosen concentration.

Courses Constituting the Fields in Areas of Concentration

For each area of concentration, the field will be Environmental Science 401, 501, 502, 504, 505 plus the total of all courses that constitute the major field offered by the department in which the concentration is taken.