Site Navigation
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Academic Schedule
Types of Credentials and Sub-Degree Nomenclature
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student and Campus Services
Academic Regulations
Experiential Learning
Tuition and General Fees
Student Financial Support
Q.1 Awards for Undergraduate Students
Q.1.1 Types of Awards and Requirements
Q.1.2 Awards Application Procedure
Q.1.3 Award Eligibility
Q.1.4 Award Payment Information
Q.1.5 Policy and Regulations
Q.1.6 Award Competitions
Q.1.7 Faculty of Veterinary Medicine Awards
Q.1.8 Faculty of Law Awards
Q.1.9 Cumming School of Medicine Awards
Q.1.10 Athletic Awards
Q.1.11 Awards for Graduating Students
Q.2 Graduate Studies Awards
Q.3 Financial Aid
Architecture, Planning and Landscape, School of
Faculty of Arts
Cumming School of Medicine
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Werklund School of Education
Embedded Certificates
Continuing Education
About the University of Calgary
Who's Who
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
Summary of Changes for the 2021/22 Calendar
University of Calgary Calendar 2021-2022 Student Financial Support Q.1 Awards for Undergraduate Students Q.1.11 Awards for Graduating Students
Q.1.11 Awards for Graduating Students
Convocation Awards for Undergraduate Students

Medallions presented at convocation are among the most prestigious of University awards. These awards reflect the highest academic distinction earned by a student in a particular discipline.

Medallions are presented at the spring convocation ceremonies in June, with the exception of the University of Calgary-Qatar medallions, which are presented at the fall convocation ceremony in November. Students who graduated at the previous fall convocation ceremony are considered for convocation medallions on the same basis as those who graduate at spring convocation.

Gold Medallions: Each faculty awards one gold medallion to the student graduating with the highest distinction in scholarship.

Silver Medallions: Each department (or equivalent unit) awards one silver medallion to the student graduating with the highest distinction in scholarship in their program.

Eligibility: For students completing their undergraduate degree program requirements with academic excellence at the University of Calgary. Each faculty and department determines its own definition of academic excellence and establishes guidelines for the selection of medallion recipients, with consideration to the following criteria:

  • Grade point average
  • Course load
  • Minimum number of University of Calgary courses taken

Application: No application required. Students are nominated by their faculties. It is the responsibility of the University’s undergraduate Awards Office Committee in Enrolment Services to select recipients for the Governor General's Silver Medallions, the Muriel Kovitz Prize, and the Lieutenant Governor's Gold Medallion.