Site Navigation
Welcome
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Academic Schedule
Tentative Future Dates
Types of Credentials and Sub-Degree Nomenclature
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student and Campus Services
Admissions
Academic Regulations
Co-operative Education/Internship
Tuition and General Fees
Awards and Financial Assistance
International Foundations Program
Faculty of Arts
Cumming School of Medicine
Faculty of Environmental Design
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Werklund School of Education
Embedded Certificates
Continuing Education
COURSES OF INSTRUCTION
About the University of Calgary
Who's Who
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
Archives
University of Calgary Calendar 2018-2019 Academic Schedule
Academic Schedule
2018-2019 Academic Dates and Deadlines

Courses taught according to non-standard dates have different drop, add and withdrawal deadlines. Please refer to the Student Centre for details regarding those deadlines specific to your course(s). In addition, and in accordance with Faculty regulations, some courses will require Faculty approval to drop, add or withdraw from courses. The academic schedule may be updated online when required and as needed.

The schedules for the Faculties of Graduate Studies, Law and the Cumming School of Medicine may have different start and end dates.

See: Spring/Summer 2018 | Fall/Winter 2018/19 | Spring/Summer 2019

Spring/Summer Term 2018 Spring Intersession 2018 Summer Intersession 2018
Academic Dates    
Start of Term
Monday, May 7 Monday, May 7 Tuesday, July 3
End of Term

Sunday, August 26

Saturday, June 30

Sunday, August 26

Start of Classes Monday, May 14 Monday, May 14 Tuesday, July 3
End of Classes

Wednesday, August 15

Tuesday, June 26 Wednesday, August 15
Start of Exams Thursday, June 28 Friday, August 17
End of Exams

Saturday, June 30

Monday, August 20
Registration Dates    
Last day to drop a class without financial penalty* Friday, May 18 Friday, May 18 Monday, July 9
Last day to add or swap a course Friday, May 18 Monday, July 9
Last day to withdraw from a course** Tuesday, June 26 Wednesday, August 15
Tuition and Refund Dates    
End of refund period Friday, May 18 Friday, May 18 Monday, July 9
Tuition and Fee Payment Deadline Wednesday, May 23 Wednesday, May 23 Wednesday, July 11
Important Dates    
Spring Convocation Monday-Friday, June 4-8
Recognized Holidays (university closed)    
Victoria Day Monday, May 21
Canada Day Sunday, July 1 (university closed Monday, July 2)
Alberta Heritage Day Monday, August 6

*There will be no academic record of a course that is dropped by this date and tuition will be refunded.
**There will be a "W" recorded for the course and tuition will not be refunded.

(back to top)

Fall Term 2018 Winter Term 2019
Academic Dates   
Start of Term
Monday, August 27 Wednesday, January 2
End of Term
Monday, December 24 Tuesday, April 30
Block Week Monday-Friday, August 27-31 Wednesday-Tuesday, January 2-8
Start of Classes Thursday, September 6 Thursday, January 10
Term Break, no classes Sunday-Saturday, November 11-17 Sunday-Sunday, February 17-24
End of Classes Friday, December 7 Friday, April 12
Start of Exams Monday, December 10 Monday, April 15
End of Exams Thursday, December 20 Saturday, April 27
Registration Dates   
Last day to drop a class without financial penalty* Thursday, September 13 Thursday, January 17
Last day to add or swap a course Friday, September 14 Friday, January 18
Last day to withdraw from a course** Friday, December 7 Friday, April 12
Tuition and Refund Dates   
End of refund period Thursday, September 13 Thursday, January 17
Tuition and Fee Payment Deadline Friday, September 21 Friday, January 25
Important Dates   
Deadline to Apply for Fall Convocation Saturday, September 15
Fall Convocation Friday, November 16
Deadline to Apply for Winter Conferral of Degree Tuesday, January 15
Winter Conferral of Degree Friday, February 15
Deadline to Apply for Spring Convocation Sunday, March 31
Recognized Holidays (university closed)   
Labour Day Monday, September 3
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 8
Remembrance Day Sunday, November 11 (university closed Nov. 12)
Holiday Observance Tuesday-Monday, December 25-31
New Year's Day Tuesday, January 1
Alberta Family Day Monday, February 18
Good Friday Friday, April 19

*There will be no academic record of a course that is dropped by this date and tuition will be refunded.
**There will be a "W" recorded for the course and tuition will not be refunded.

(back to top)

Spring/Summer Term 2019 Spring Intersession 2019 Summer Intersession 2019
Academic Dates    
Start of Term
Monday, May 6 Monday, May 6 Tuesday, July 2
End of Term
Friday, August 23 Friday, June 28 Friday, August 23
Start of Classes Monday, May 6 Tuesday, July 2
End of Classes Monday, June 17 Tuesday, August 13
Start of Exams   Wednesday, June 19 Thursday, August 15
End of Exams   Friday, June 21 Monday, August 19
Registration Dates    
Last day to drop a class without financial penalty*

Friday, May 10

Friday, May 10 Monday July 8
Last day to add or swap a course

 

Friday, May 10

Monday, July 8
Last day to withdraw from a course** Monday, June 17 Tuesday, August 13
Tuition and Refund Dates    
End of refund period

Friday, May 10

Friday, May 10 Monday, July 8
Tuition and Fee Payment Deadline Wednesday, May 15 Wednesday, May 15 Wednesday, July 10
Important Dates    
Spring Convocation Monday-Friday, June 3-7 Monday-Friday, June 3-7
Recognized Holidays (university closed)    
Victoria Day Monday, May 20
Canada Day Monday, July 1
Alberta Heritage Day Monday, August 5

*There will be no academic record of a course that is dropped by this date and tuition will be refunded.
**There will be a "W" recorded for the course and tuition will not be refunded.

(back to top)