Members of the Teaching Academy standing on the stairs in the Taylor Institute building

Awards and Grants

Institutional, national, and international awards and grants that recognize and celebrate excellence in teaching and learning.

UCalgary teaching awards

Recognizing outstanding contributions to learning by individuals and groups in diverse teaching contexts.

Learn more

UCalgary teaching and learning grants

Enhancing students' learning experiences by integrating teaching, learning and research.

Learn more

National teaching awards

Highly-sought after teaching awards available at the national level.

Learn more

International teaching awards

Top teaching awards available at the international level.

Learn more

External Teaching and Learning Awards Committee

The External Teaching and Learning Awards Committee was formed in Fall 2019. It is composed of members from each faculty, the Graduate Student Association (GSA), and the Students' Union (SU). The committee's mandate is to help raise awareness and distinction around teaching and learning within our units and throughout the academy. The committee also supports the nomination process of several external awards and helps recognize outstanding educators at the University of Calgary.

  1. Leslie Reid

    Vice-Provost, Teaching and Learning

  2. Natasha Kenny

    Senior Director, Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning


  3. TBC

    School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape


  4. Barbara Brown

    Werklund School of Education

  5. William Bridel

    Faculty of Kinesiology

  6. Dawn Johnston

    Faculty of Arts

  7. Hieu Ngo

    Faculty of Social Work

  8. Gillian Ayers

    Schulich School of Engineering

  9. Mary Grantham O’Brien

    Faculty of Graduate Studies

  10. Evaristus Oshionebo

    Faculty of Law

  11. Tara Beattie

    Cumming School of Medicine

  12. Leighton Wilks

    Haskayne School of Business

  13. Wendy Benoit

    Faculty of Science

  14. Zahra Shajani

    Faculty of Nursing

  15. Angelica Galezowski

    Faculty of Veterinary Medicine


  16. James Steele

    GSA VP Student Life

  17. Shaziah Jinnah

    SU VP Academic

Committee-reviewed awards

The following external, prestigious national awards are supported by the committee. The External Teaching and Learning Awards Committee also consults and advises on a number of other national or international teaching and learning awards. If you are considering moving forward with an external teaching and learning award, please connect with your Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning, or equivalent person in your faculty/school.

3M Logo

3M National Teaching Fellowship

Agency deadline: November 15, 2022 Internal deadline: August 2022

D2L Logo

D2L Innovation Award

Agency deadline: TBD; Internal deadline: TBD

Alan Blizzard Award Logo

Alan Blizzard Award

Agency deadline: TBD; Internal deadline: TBD