Search for Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

The University of Calgary has commenced the search for a new Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. This process is outlined in the University of Calgary Procedure for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans.

The advisory search committee has been struck and the committee members are listed further down on this page. For information on the composition of the advisory search committee please see Procedure for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans Appendix 1.

This page will be updated throughout the search process, so please visit again soon. 

Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Reporting to the Provost and Vice-President (Academic), the Dean leads the strategic direction and is the key advocate for the faculty.  As the chief executive officer, this visionary leader is also responsible for faculty and academic professional staff development, budget oversight and planning, fund development, facilities and research, while fostering a culture of equity, diversity, and inclusion for all students, faculty and staff.  A high-profile and dynamic community leader, the Dean pursues innovative and collaborative partnerships for UCVM across Faculties, with the Alberta community, external stakeholders and organizations, and with the national and international veterinary community. 

Provide feedback

Provide confidential feedback for the search for the Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. All feedback will be taken into consideration by the advisory committee and search consultant. 

  1. Chair

    Dru Marshall

  2. VP (Research) Designate

    Andre Buret

  3. Tenured Academic Staff

    Jeff Biernaskie

  4. Tenured Academic Staff

    Hermann Schaetzl 

  5. Tenured Academic Staff

    Amy Warren 

  6. Tenured Academic Staff

    Patrick Whelan 

  7. TUCFA Representative

    Trevor Tombe 

  8. Decanal Representative

    Dianne Gereluk 

  9. MaPS Representative

    Derek Monar 

  10. AUPE Representative

    Nicole Stubley 

  11. SU Representative

    Douglas Doyle-Baker 

  12. GSA Representative

    Kabita Baral 

  13. GFC Representative

    David Donald Hansen  

  14. GFC Representative

    Guido Van Marle 

  15. Community Representative

    Kirsten Aarbo 

  16. Community Representative

    John Simpson 

Contact the Search Consultants

We seek your advice as we search for a new Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. All responses will be kept confidential. 

Janet Soles & Associates is the firm supporting the search. Please contact their consultants directly with your questions, applications or nominations.

Janet Soles