Search for Dean, Faculty of Science

The University of Calgary has commenced the search for a new Dean, Faculty of Science. This process is outlined in the University of Calgary Procedure for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans.

The advisory selection committee has been struck and the committee members will be listed further down on this page once finalized. For information on the composition of the advisory search committee please see Procedure for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans Appendix 1.


Dean, Faculty of Science

Reporting to the Provost and Vice-President (Academic), the Dean leads the strategic direction and is the key advocate for the faculty.  As the chief executive officer, this visionary leader is also responsible for faculty and academic professional staff development, budget oversight and planning, fund development, facilities and research, while fostering a culture of equity, diversity, and inclusion for all students, faculty and staff.  A high-profile and dynamic community leader, the Dean pursues innovative and collaborative partnerships for Science across Faculties, with the Alberta community, external stakeholders and organizations, and with the national and community. 

Provide feedback

Provide confidential feedback for the search for the Dean, Faculty of Science. All feedback will be taken into consideration by the advisory committee and search consultant. 

  1. Chair

    Ed McCauley

  2. VP (Research)

    William Ghali

  3. Tenured Academic Staff

      Wendy Benoit

  4. Tenured Academic Staff

      Edwin Cey

  5. Tenured Academic Staff

      Robert Marriott

  6. Tenured Academic Staff

      Steve Vamosi

  7. TUCFA Representative

      John Baker

  8. Decanal Representative

      John Brown

  9. MaPS Representative

     Gloria Visser-Niven

  10. AUPE Representative

     Karen Barron

  11. SU Representative

    Chaten Jessel

  12. GSA Representative

      Tanille Shandro 

  13. GFC Representative

    Susan Graham

  14. GFC Representative

    Elise Fear

  15. Community Representative

      Marianna Trujillo

  16. Community Representative

     Sue Shaw

Contact the Search Consultants

We seek your advice as we search for a new Dean, Science. All responses will be kept confidential. 

Janet Soles & Associates is the firm supporting the search. Please contact their consultants directly with your questions, applications or nominations.

Janet Soles