Review of the Dean, Werklund School of Education

The University of Calgary is reviewing the senior leadership position of the Dean, Werklund School of Education. This process is outlined in the University of Calgary Procedure for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans. The advisory decanal review committee will be struck in the coming weeks, and the committee members will be listed on this page. For information on the composition of the Advisory Review Committee and other details please see Procedure for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans Appendix 1.

Once the committee is struck, they will meet twice during May and June. The first meeting includes a review of the feedback received and the Dean’s self-assessment – which includes a summary of accomplishments and their vision and plan for the unit in the next five years. The Dean makes a presentation and is interviewed at the second committee meeting. Following the interview, the committee will deliberate and make a recommendation regarding reappointment as the committee is advisory to the President.

It is anticipated that the committee will complete its work and the recommendation will be submitted before the end of June. Information and updates regarding the review will be available on this webpage as we move through the process.

Provide Feedback

Please provide your comments/feedback on the performance of Dean Dianne Gereluk.

Please be assured that your input and comments will be treated with the utmost confidentiality. Feedback will be compiled in an anonymous manner and shared confidentially with the Advisory Review Committee.

To provide feedback for the official review process, please use the confidential webform below. 


*Feedback closed*


Advisory Search Committee

Chair Penny Werthner

Vice President (Research) Designate Robert Thompson

Tenured Academic staff Amy Burns

Tenured Academic staff Sarah Eaton

Tenured Academic staff Kim Lenters

Tenured Academic staff Erin Spring

TUCFA representative David Stewart

Decanal representative Nick Holt

MaPS representative Angie Crowley

AUPE representative Judith Berzins

SU representative Sandra Amin

GSA representative TBD

GFC representative Hieu Ngo

GFC representative Kristine Bauer

Community representative Maurice Manyfingers

Community representative Christine Cheung