Review of the Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Engagement)

Review update: June 19, 2023

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Michael Hart has been reappointed for a second term as vice-provost (indigenous engagement). See the full announcement here.



The University of Calgary is reviewing the senior leadership position of the Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Engagement). 

We are currently striking the Advisory Review Committee, once the committee is struck, they will meet twice during the fall term. The first meeting includes a review of the feedback received and the incumbent’s self-assessment – which includes a summary of accomplishments and their vision and plan for the unit in the next five years. The Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Engagement) makes a presentation and is interviewed at the second committee meeting. Following the interview, the committee will deliberate and make a recommendation regarding reappointment as the committee is advisory to the President.

It is anticipated that the committee will complete its work and the recommendation will be submitted before the end of the Fall term. Information and updates regarding the review will be available on this webpage as we move through the process.

Provide Feedback

Please provide your comments/feedback on the performance of Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Engagement), Dr. Michael Hart.

Please be assured that your input and comments will be treated with the utmost confidentiality. Feedback will be compiled in an anonymous manner and shared confidentially with the Advisory Review Committee. Please note that oral feedback will be provided to the committee and Dr. Hart in the format it is received so anonymity can not be guaranteed.

*Submission of feedback is now closed*

Advisory Search Committee

Chair Penny Werthner

Vice President (Research) William Ghali

Tenured Academic staff Shawna Cunningham

TUCFA representative David Stewart

Decanal representative Bill Rosehart

Provost Team representative Verity Turpin

MaPS representative Carol Gelette

AUPE representative Gerald Ratt

SU representative Adrian Alcantara

GSA representative Rahul Agawal

GFC representative Pamela Roach

GFC representative Yvonne Poitras Pratt

Elder representative Reg Crowshoe

Elder representative Doreen Bergum

ii' taa'poh'to'p Student Advisory Circle representative Santanna Hernandez

ii' taa'poh'to'p Student Advisory Circle representative Ashley Cornect-Benoit

Community representative Tim Fox

Community representative Jeff Horvath



Sarah Luthy
Executive Director
Office of the Provost

Phone: 403.220.7963