University of Calgary

Alumni elected to Legislative Assembly

UToday HomeMay 24, 2012

University of Calgary President Elizabeth Cannon offered her congratulations to six alumni who will take their seats in the Alberta Legislative Assembly today.

“We take great pride in the accomplishments of our alumni who serve in elected office in Alberta,” said Cannon. “They play an important role in advancing the future prosperity of the province.

“We look forward to working with all members of the new Legislative Assembly as we implement the university’s strategic direction, Eyes High, and support Alberta taking its place on the world stage through innovative teaching and learning, research and community engagement.”

Alumni Teresa Woo-Paw, Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) for Calgary-Northern Hills, and Kyle Fawcett, MLA for Calgary-Klein, were recently named associate ministers of Finance and International and Intergovernmental Relations, respectively. Woo-Paw graduated from the University of Calgary with a Bachelor of Social Work in 1983. Fawcett earned his Bachelor of Arts in 2002.

Other University of Calgary alumni elected or re-elected on April 23 are:

Government Members’ caucus

  • Neil Brown, MLA for Calgary-Mackay-Nose Hill (BSc’71, LL.B’82)
  • Len Webber, MLA for Calgary-Foothills (BComm’98)

Wildrose Official Opposition caucus

  • Danielle Smith, MLA for Wildwood and Leader of the Official Opposition (BA’97)

Alberta Liberal caucus

  • Kent Hehr, MLA for Calgary-Buffalo (BA’97, JD’01)

Other University of Calgary alumni who hold political office include the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada and His Worship Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary.