University of Calgary

Canada’s Most Powerful Women

UToday HomeJanuary 7, 2013

Recently, the WXN Foundation announced its 2012 list of Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100. We’re proud to announce that six award recipients are affiliated with the University of Calgary: Andrea Goertz, Brenda Kenny, Leslie O’Donoghue, Kimberley Amirault-Ryan, Daphne Taras and Helen Wesley.

Andrea Goertz, senior vice-president, Strategic Initiatives, TELUS, received the Scotiabank Corporate Executives Award. She is a member of the Haskayne School of Business Management Advisory Council.

Brenda Kenny (PhD’05), CEO and president, Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, received the Xstrata Nickel Trailblazers and Trendsetters Award. She sits on the University of Calgary board of governors and was previously an adjunct professor at the Haskayne School of Business.

Leslie O’Donoghue (BA’84), executive vice president of corporate development and strategy and chief risk officer at Agrium, received the Scotiabank Corporate Executives Award for women who hold senior positions in Canada’s publicly traded and privately owned companies.

Kimberley Amirault-Ryan (PhD’00), performance consultant for the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Edmonton Oilers and Kimberley Amirault PH.D Inc., received the Xstrata Trailblazers and Trendsetters Award for women who are either the first in their field or who have made a major impact in their field.

Daphne Taras (MBA’86, PhD’94), dean of the Edwards School of Business, University of Saskatchewan, received the Public Sector Leaders Award. She is not only a two-time Haskayne graduate but also a former associate-dean (research) at the Haskayne School of Business.

Helen Wesley (BComm’91) executive vice-president, Talisman Energy Inc., received the Scotiabank Corporate Executives Award. Wesley is also the 2012 recipient of Haskayne’s prestigious Management Alumni Excellence (MAX) award. She is a director of CARE Canada and Junior Achievement of Southern Alberta, and a member of Haskayne’s Management Advisory Council.

Learn more about the Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 at