University of Calgary

The Order of the University of Calgary

UToday HomeApril 18, 2012

We are pleased to announce that The Order of the University of Calgary will be awarded to N. Ole Nielsen, DVM, PhD, DACVP during the May 10 convocation ceremony. The Order of the University of Calgary recognizes individuals who have a history of exemplary and distinguished service to the university.

With more than 50 years of experience as an educator and academic administrator, Nielson is widely respected in the field of veterinary medicine. He has been an invaluable and enthusiastic contributor to the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine’s development since its inception. (Read more about Nielsen’s significant contributions to the University of Calgary.)

On May 10, we will be celebrating the first graduating class from the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine—a milestone in its history—and a realization of the faculty’s vision to bring innovation and community together to advance animal and human health. It seems especially noteworthy that Nielsen will be recognized at this convocation. He used his extensive knowledge and diplomacy to engage practicing veterinarians and academics in support of a new centre in Calgary.

As previously shared with you, Joseph B. Martin, MD, PhD will also be recognized during the May 10 convocation ceremony. He will receive an honorary degree.

Dr. Martin is an outstanding Albertan and an internationally-acclaimed leader in academic medicine. He has had a long and distinguished career in academic administration, most recently as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He is currently the Edward R. and Anne G. Lefler Professor of Neurobiology and Dean Emeritus at Harvard Medical School. (Read more about Dr. Martin.)

The May 10 convocation ceremony includes students from the faculties of medicine (doctor of medicine only), law and veterinary medicine, in addition to graduate students in the Master of Laws, Master of Science and PhD in Leaders in Medicine and Veterinary Medical Sciences programs.

Please join us in congratulating both N. Ole Nielsen and Joseph B. Martin, and welcoming them to the family of University of Calgary distinguished award recipients.

Jim Dinning
Elizabeth Cannon