University of Calgary

Convocation: Nov. 13/07

October 22, 2007

The Hour host, George Stroumboulopoulos, earns U of C honorary degree

George Stroumboulopoulos, the host of Canada’s popular late night talk show, The Hour, and pioneering energy leader Gwyn Morgan will receive honorary degrees from the University of Calgary at the upcoming November convocation.

“The University of Calgary is extremely proud to honour these two well-known Canadians, each leaders in their own right,” said U of C Chancellor Joanne Cuthbertson. “Gwyn’s passion for our country and commitment to a world-class business community here in Canada is well-established. George’s connection with Canadian youth and his ability to provoke young peoples’ interest and capabilities in national and global events is unique and vital to our country.”

The honorary degree is the university’s highest accolade, bestowed on those individuals who have made extraordinary achievements and done a great service to the community.

“I'm very excited to receive this degree, it’s such an honour for me, but I’ve got to tell you, I’m totally stoked to finally get a degree and not have to pay off a student loan,” said Stroumboulopoulos.

The Hour with George Stroumboulopoulos is unlike any program on television. It is a hybrid of news and celebrity, reflected through in-depth conversations and dynamic production. Now in its fourth season, the program has won two Gemini Awards – one for best talk series in Canada, the other for best host in a talk program or series. Stroumboulopoulos has won back-to-back Gemini Awards (2006 & 2007) for Best Host or Interviewer in a General/Human Interest or Talk Program or Series.

Prior to joining The Hour, Stroumboulopoulos participated in a special feature series on CBC, ‘The Greatest Canadian’ in history. More than 1.2 million votes were cast over six weeks, as each of the10 advocates made their case for the Top 10 nominees. Stroumboulopoulos made a personal and passionate case for Tommy Douglas, Canada’s ‘father of medicare,’ and Douglas won. That passion has guided Stroumboulopoulos’ career, taking him around the world on a wide range of assignments. He has travelled to the Arctic for a special on literacy, youth culture and the loss of Inuit identity. He has been to Sudan with War Child Canada and Zambia for a World AIDS Day special documentary.

Also receiving an honorary degree is Gwyn Morgan, who devoted three decades to building North America’s largest upstream oil and gas producer. He will receive his honorary degree on Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 9:30 a.m.

Morgan led the creation of EnCana Corporation from the merger of Alberta Energy Company and PanCanadian Energy in early 2002, serving as founding president and chief executive officer until retiring at the end of 2005.  Before forming EnCana, Morgan was president and CEO of Alberta Energy Company, which he joined at the time of its startup in 1975.

Morgan was voted Canada’s most respected CEO for 2005 in a national survey of 250 chief executive officers. He was also named Canada’s outstanding CEO of the Year of 2005 by the Financial Post Business Magazine and CTV.

In addition to the honorary degree recipients, four people will become part of the Order of the University of Calgary this fall, which recognizes those who have a record of distinguished service to the university. Those to be initiated include: U of C Senator Carol Gilchrist; U of C researcher and professor Thomas Keenan; U of C volunteer and past employee Gloria Davis; and U of C PhD candidate and student leader Christine Johns.

This November, approximately 1,306 students will graduate. Joanne Stalinski, BSW’74, MBA’90, senior vice-president of wellness at the Calgary Health Region, will lead the graduation pledge in
the morning, and Brent Devost, Bed’97, founder, president and CEO of Edge School, an independent school in Calgary for student-athletes, will lead the pledge in the afternoon.

University of Calgary convocation ceremony

1,306 graduating students
Honorary degree recipient Gwyn Morgan – Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 9:30
Honorary degree recipient George Stroumboulopoulos – Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2 p.m.
Order of the U of C inductee Carol Gilchrist – Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 9:30
Order of the U of C inductee Thomas Keenan – Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 9:30
Order of the U of C inductee Gloria Davis – Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 2 p.m.
Order of the U of C inductee Christine Johns – Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 2 p.m.
Distinguished graduate to recite graduation pledge, Joanne Stalinski – Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 9:30
Distinguished graduate to recite graduation pledge, Brent Devost – Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 2 p.m.

Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 9:30
Tuesday, Nov. 13 at 2 p.m.

Jack Simpson Gymnasium, in the Kinesiology complex, at the U of C. Click here for a map of U of C.

Media contact:                                                                                
Meghan Sired
Media Relations Advisor, University of Calgary
Office: (403) 220-4756
Cell: (403) 852-5047

Media are welcome to park in any lot on campus. If your vehicle is not marked, please leave a media business card in your window. Please do not park in 24-hour reserved spots, loading zones or handicapped stalls.