May 27, 2024

Faculty of Law announces 2024 teaching excellence winners

Award for professor and sessional instructor announced

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023-2024 Teaching Excellence Awards: Professor David Wright and sessional instructor Kaysi Fagan. 

"There are many things about our law school that make me feel proud," says law dean Ian Holloway, "but none more than the fact that we are a Faculty that really takes our duty to students seriously. Dave Wright and Kaysi Fagan are two wonderful exemplars of that. They are deeply committed to student learning, and they both are at the forefront of teaching innovation. They represent the very best of the UCalgary Law tradition."

Professor David Wright

Professor David Wright

Howard Tidswell Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence: Professor David Wright

The Tidswell Award is awarded based on teaching excellence having regard for, but not limited to, teaching excellence in a defined period, prolonged high-level teaching performance, teaching methodology, and/or contribution to curriculum. 

"As law teacher, nothing is more fulfilling to me than watching the students embrace these opportunities and then quickly build nuanced skills and knowledge that provide a basis for fulfilling careers," says Wright. "Throughout all my classes, I approach the curriculum and students in a ‘coaching stance’ with an open mind and open door, all focussed on helping the students build confidence, nurture balance, and ultimately pursue their own learning and professional goals defined in their own way."

Kaysi Fagan

Sessional instructor Kaysi Fagan

Sessional Instructor Teaching Award: Kaysi Fagan

First awarded in 2021, the Sessional Instructor Teaching Award recognizes high-level teaching performance, methodology, and contribution to curriculum, as well as innovative course design and/or delivery.

"Teaching has been one of the greatest joys of my legal career," says Fagan. "The students have had such an immense impact on me, and being chosen for this award signals that the impact is felt both ways. What an honour. Congratulations to my fellow nominees, whose dedication and talent have truly raised the bar for Sessional Instructors."