Aug. 3, 2022

Dr. Sandra Davidson reappointed as dean of UCalgary’s Faculty of Nursing

A message from the provost and vice-president (academic)
Sandra Davidson
Sandra Davidson Erick Nhan

I am pleased to announce that Dr. Sandra Davidson, PhD, has been reappointed for a second term as dean of the Faculty of Nursing.

Earlier this year, Dr. Davidson indicated her openness to be considered for reappointment, which then promoted the start of the review process. This process is outlined in the University of Calgary Procedure for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans. An Advisory Decanal Review Committee was then established to consider Sandra’s performance during her time as dean and the potential for reappointment. The Advisory Review Committee invited and reviewed feedback from those within the faculty and our community. Thank you to everyone who took the time to participate in this important process and provide input. The committee recommendation and feedback were shared with President and Vice-Chancellor Ed McCauley, who was pleased to accept the recommendation and proceed with renewal.

Sandra, who has considerable practical experience as a nurse, began her first term as dean of the Faculty of Nursing at the University of Calgary on Aug. 1, 2018. She joined UCalgary from the University of Alberta, where she served as the associate dean for undergraduate programs in the Faculty of Nursing. Prior to that, she held a variety of positions in the United States, including dean of nursing and then senior director of academic affairs for Carrington College based in Phoenix, Ariz., and as the director, Master of Healthcare Innovation program, at Arizona State University.

Under Sandra’s leadership, UCalgary's Faculty of Nursing has made significant gains over the past four years in the areas of academic programming, operational efficiencies, community relationships and research growth. Among the highlights are the faculty being awarded its first two Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Tier II Canada Research Chairs, launching an innovative nurse practitioner-led mental health and well-being clinic, and revitalizing rural nursing through curriculum redesign, student recruitment and online education delivery.

During a time when nursing is more important than ever, Sandra demonstrated exceptional leadership through the pandemic, positioning the faculty as a strong community partner. Among new relationships forged is one with the Siksika Nation’s Old Sun Community College, collaborating on a new Bachelor of Nursing Indigenous pathway that marries western health-care practices with Indigenous spiritual ways. The faculty has also strengthened its relationships with partners such as the Calgary Health Foundation, CUPS, the Brenda Strafford Foundation, Innovate Calgary, 19toZero, Alberta Family Wellness Initiative and Alberta Health Services.

With a solid foundation built through program redesign and development during her first four years as dean, Sandra will turn her focus to growing the faculty’s reputation, nationally and internationally, through excellence in academic programs and student experience, and increased investment in research and scholarship.

I would like to thank the members of the advisory review committee, which I chaired, for their participation in this important process. They are: Robert Thompson (vice president (research) designate), Añiela dela Cruz (tenured academic staff), Janet Rankin (tenured academic staff), Nicole Letourneau (tenured academic staff), Tracey Clancy (tenured academic staff), Kent Donlevy (Faculty Association of the University of Calgary (TUCFA) representative), Dianne Gereluk (decanal representative), Karen Cook (Management and Professional Staff (MaPS) representative), Joan Smith (Alberta Union of Public Employees (AUPE) representative), Melody Chu (Students' Union representative), Sandip Dhaliwal (Graduate Students’ Association representative), Lorian Hardcastle (General Faculties Council (GFC) representative), Naweed Syed (GFC representative), Carlene Donnelly (community representative) and Shawna Syverson (community representative).

Please join me in congratulating Sandra on her reappointment.

Dr. Teri Balser, PhD
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)