Aug. 16, 2019

Changes made to University of Calgary Board of Governors

A message from President Ed McCauley

On Friday, Aug.16, 2019, the Minister of Advanced Education announced changes to the membership of our Board of Governors by appointing Geeta Sankappanavar as the new chair and Heather Christie-Burns and Cody Church as new public members of the board. This announcement coincides with changes to several other post-secondary boards across the province.

Our new board chair, Geeta Sankappanavar, is a respected business leader in Calgary, with extensive board governance experience. Ms. Sankappanavar is the president of Grafton Asset Management. She has been named one of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women and one of Alberta’s 50 Most Influential People.

I want to take the opportunity to thank Jill Wyatt for her many years of service to the university as board chair, member of the board and senator. Jill has been a passionate champion for our university in the community. On a more personal note, she has been an anchor for me as I transitioned into my presidency and I am very grateful for her counsel and support. On behalf of the university community, I wish her all the best.

I also would like to thank Colin Jackson and Hafeez Chishti for their contributions to the University of Calgary and their dedication to community service.

I look forward to working with our new and existing board members in continuing to build our great university.

Dr. Ed McCauley
President and Vice-Chancellor