University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Four faculty members receive prestigious Killam awards

Professors from the faculties of Social Work, Medicine and Science receive Killam Annual Professor award
July 2, 2014
Killam winners, clockwise from top left: Karl Riabowol, Daniel Lai, Peter Tieleman, and Gerrit Voordouw.

Killam winners, clockwise from top left: Karl Riabowol, Daniel Lai, Peter Tieleman, and Gerrit Voordouw.

Four University of Calgary faculty members have been awarded the prestigious Killam Annual Professorship. Killam Annual Professors are selected for demonstrating excellence in research and teaching for 10 years or more, while serving their academic discipline and their community outside the university. Recipients are nominated by the dean of their faculty and selected through peer review.

The 2014 Killam Annual Professors at the University of Calgary are:

  • Daniel Lai, Faculty of Social Work: An internationally recognized scholar, Prof. Lai brings a unique and influential research program to the university in the field of health and aging among culturally diverse populations. Lai’s combined academic background in social work, sociology and urban studies has aided him to successfully build an interdisciplinary program of research providing fundamental research knowledge that is not only recognized by the gerontological research community but that has also shaped policies and programs related to aging.
  • Karl Riabowol, Faculty of Medicine, Departments of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Oncology: Dr. Riabowol joined the University of Calgary as an AHFMR Scholar and started a research program that is renowned for discovering a new family of tumor suppressors. Riabowol’s program is also the world leader in defining how these suppressors operate for cancer diagnosis and treatment. Riabowol is a full member of the Southern Alberta Cancer Research Institute, the Children’s Hospital Research Institute and is the founder and director of the University of Calgary’s core antibody facility.
  • Peter Tieleman, Faculty of Science, Department of Biological Sciences: Prof. Tieleman is a national and international leader in the rapidly growing field of computer simulations of biological systems — an area that unites the fields of chemistry, biology, physics and computer science. In 2012, Tieleman was named as the Alberta Innovates Technology Futures Tier 1 Strategic Chair in (Bio)Molecular Simulation and is currently an Alberta Innovates Health Solutions Scientist.
  • Gerrit Voordouw, Faculty of Science, Department of Biological Sciences: Prof. Voordouw’s research has been continuously funded by the NSERC Discovery grant since 1987 and the NSERC Strategic grant since 1988 in the area of molecular biology of sulfate-reducing bacteria (SRB.) Voordouw’s achievements in his field led to the launch of the NSERC Industrial Research Chair (IRC) in Petroleum Microbiology. Voordouw also serves on the board of four editorial journals and is currently an editor of Applied and Environmental Microbiology.

The Professorship term started July 1, 2014 and will continue for one year. Killam Annual Professors will each receive a $10,000 prize from the Killam Trusts. Check the website for more information on the Killam Trusts at the University of Calgary.