University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Canada First Research Excellence Fund (CFREF)

CFREF Office

4th Floor - Energy Environment Experiential Learning (EEEL) Building
750 Campus Drive NW
Calgary, Alberta
T2N1N4

Canada First Research Excellence Fund (CFREF) Team

ian-gates

Ian Gates

CFREF, Transition Lead


(403) 220-5752

ian.gates@ucalgary.ca

robert-skinner

Robert Skinner

Research Advisor, Energy

rgskinne@ucalgary.ca

CFREF Support Staff

maha-alz

Maha Al-Zu'bi

Manager, CFREF Support Team

(403) 220-6482

malzubi@ucalgary.ca

natalia-babanova

Natalia Babanova

HR Advisor

nbabanov@ucalgary.ca

isabelle-couture

Isabelle Couture

Coordinator, Special Projects

(403) 210-9118

isabelle.couture@ucalgary.ca

joanna-bekkering

Joanna Bekkering

Research Project Coordinator

(403) 210-7448

joanna.bekkering@ucalgary.ca

karen-seminchuk

Karen M. Seminchuk

Administrative Coordinator

(403) 210-6931

karen.seminchuk@ucalgary.ca

CFREF Research Committee - Heavy Oil & Bitumen

ian-gates

Ian Gates

Heavy Oil & Bitumen Theme Lead, CFREF Transition Lead


(403) 220-5752

ian.gates@ucalgary.ca

jingyi-wang

Jingyi (Jacky) Wang

RA - Heavy Oil & Bitumen Theme

jwang@ucalgary.ca

CFREF Research Committee - Tight Oil & Gas

david-eaton

David Eaton

Tight Oil & Gas Theme Lead

(403) 220-4233

eatond@ucalgary.ca

lydia-dicaprio

Lydia Dicaprio

RA - Tight Oil & Gas Theme

lydia.dicaprio@ucalgary.ca

CFREF Research Committee - Co2 Conversion

marc-strous

Marc Strous

CO₂ Conversion Theme Lead

(403) 220-6604

mstrous@ucalgary.ca

angela-kouris

Angela Kouris

RA - CO₂ Conversion Theme

angela.kouris@ucalgary.ca

CFREF Technology Assessment Team

joule-bergerson

Joule Bergerson 

Technology Assessment & Coordination Team Lead

(403) 220-5265

jbergers@ucalgary.ca

CFREF Partners

rick-tofani

Rick Tofani

Director, Applied Research and Innovation Services, The Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)

(403) 774-5301

rick.tofani@sait.ca

don-lawton

Don Lawton

Director, Director for Containment and Monitoring Institute (CaMI)

(403) 220-5718

lawton@ucalgary.ca

stace-wills

Stace Wills

Vice-President, Energy, Innovate Calgary

(403) 270-2438

swills@innovatecalgary.ca

Other Staff

xiucheng-wei

Xiucheng Wei

International Research Coordinator - Beijing Site

(403) 210-6437

xiucheng.wei@ucalgary.ca