University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Important Dates and Deadlines 2015/2016

Important dates and deadlines are critical to your student record. It's the responsibility of each student to align decisions and changes within the deadlines.

Registration

Fall Term 2015
Tuesday, Sept. 1 Fall Term begins.
Wednesday. Sept. 1 - Saturday, Sept. 5 Fall Term Block week.
Saturday, Sept. 5 Last day to withdraw with permission from Block Week courses.
Tuesday, Sept. 8 Fall Term lectures begin
Friday, Sept. 18 Last day to drop Fall Term and multi-term courses.
No fee refunds for Fall Term or Fall/Winter Term (multi-term) courses after this date.
Monday, Sept. 21 Last day to add or swap Fall Term courses.
Friday, Sept. 25 Fee payment deadline for Fall Term fees.
Tuesday, Dec. 8 Last day to withdraw from Fall Term courses.

Winter Term 2016
Monday, Jan. 4 Winter Term begins.
Monday, Jan. 4 - Friday, Jan. 8 Winter Term Block week.
Monday, Jan. 11 Winter Term lectures begin
Friday, Jan. 22 Last day to drop Winter Term courses.
No fee refunds for Winter Term courses after this date.
Monday, Jan. 25 Last day to add or swap Winter Term half courses.
Friday, Jan. 29 Fee payment deadline for Winter Term fees.
Wednesday, Apr. 13 Last day to withdraw from Winter Term courses and Fall/Winter Term (multi-term) courses.

Fees and Finances

Fall Term 2015
Friday, Sept. 18 Last day to drop Fall Term and multi-term courses.
No fee refunds for Fall Term or Fall/Winter Term (multi-term) courses after this date.
Monday, Sept. 21 Last day to add or swap Fall Term courses.
Friday, Sept. 25 Fee payment deadline for Fall Term fees.

Winter Term 2016
Friday, Jan. 22 Last day to drop Winter Term courses.
No fee refunds for Winter Term courses after this date.
Monday, Jan. 25 Last day to add or swap Winter Term half courses.
Friday, Jan. 29 Fee payment deadline for Winter Term fees.

Open Studies & Visiting Students

Term Application Opens Application Closes
Winter 2016 Thursday, October 1, 2015 Friday, December 11, 2015.
Spring 2016 Monday, February 1, 2016 Friday, April 15, 2016
Summer 2016 Friday, April 1, 2016 Wednesday, June 15, 2016.
Fall 2016 Wednesday, June 1, 2016 Friday, August 26, 2016

Find out more about Open Studies and Visiting student registration.

Examination

An examination schedule is produced for each session and is published approximately six weeks after the start of the fall and winter sessions and three weeks after the start of spring and summer sessions. Click here to find out more about final exams.

Semester Final Examination Dates Final Examination Application Deadline Deferred Final Examination Dates
Fall December 11 - 22, 2015 December 24, 2015 January 14 - 16, 2016
Winter April 16 - 27, 2016 April 29, 2016 May 12 - 14, 2016

*Students must submit their application for a deferred final exam or notify the appropriate faculty office no later than 2 business days after their missed final exam. 

Convocation

Graduation and Convocation are a great time of celebration for the university, graduates, their families and friends. Find out more about Graduation and Convocation including deadlines to apply for a degree/diploma.

Convocation Dates

Dates Convocation
Thursday, November 12, 2015 Fall Convocation 2015
Monday - Friday, June 6 - 10, 2016 June Convocation 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016 Fall Convocation 2016

Convocation Dates