Site Navigation
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Academic Schedule
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student and Campus Services
Academic Regulations
Co-operative Education/Internship
Tuition and General Fees
Awards and Financial Assistance
International Foundations Program
Faculty of Arts
Cumming School of Medicine
Faculty of Environmental Design
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
1. Summary of Programs
2. Faculty Student Affairs
3. Faculty Regulations
4. Program Details
4.1 Biological Sciences
4.2 Chemistry
4.3 Computer Science
4.4 Geoscience
4.4.1 Programs in Geology
4.4.2 Programs in Geology (Petroleum Geology Concentration)
4.4.3 Programs in Applied and Environmental Geology
4.4.4 Programs in Geophysics
4.4.5 Environmental Science - Geology Concentration
4.5 Mathematics and Statistics
4.6 Non-Departmental Programs: Environmental Science, Nanoscience, Natural Sciences, Neuroscience
4.7 Physics and Astronomy
5. Administration
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Werklund School of Education
Embedded Certificates
Continuing Education
About the University of Calgary
Who's Who
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
University of Calgary Calendar 2017-2018 Faculty of Science 4. Program Details 4.4 Geoscience
4.4 Geoscience
Degrees Offered

Undergraduate Programs1



Applied and Environmental Geology2 BSc BSc Honours
Geology BSc BSc Honours
Geophysics BSc BSc Honours

There are many options for graduate studies leading to MSc and PhD degrees in the area of Geosciences. Details of graduate specializations can be found in the graduate section of this calendar.

1All degrees in the Faculty of Science, except Environmental Science, can be combined with eligible BA and BSc programs from the Faculty of Arts. Please refer to Section 3.4 for information on combined degrees, double majors with programs within the Faculty of Science as well as combined degrees with programs from other Faculties. Students interested in pursuing these degrees are encouraged to speak with an advisor in the Undergraduate Science Program to develop a degree completion plan.

2The Applied and Environmental Geology program has been suspended as of Fall 2015. Students interested in this degree are encouraged to apply for the Geology program and speak to a program advisor in the USC for their degree planning.

Programs Offered

BSc and BSc Honours in Geology, Geology (Petroleum Geology Concentration), Applied and Environmental Geology, and Geophysics

Minors in Geology and Geophysics

Double Major and Double Degree Programs

  • Double major programs are allowed combining any two of: (i) Geology or Geology (Petroleum Geology Concentration), (ii) Applied and Environmental Geology, (iii) Geophysics, (iv) Earth Science, (v) Environmental Science (Geology).
  • Double degree programs are allowed combining Geophysics with one of (i) Geology, (ii) Geology (Petroleum Geology Concentration), (iii) Applied and Environmental Geology, (iv) Environmental Science (Geology).
Department vs. Faculty Regulations

Programs in the Department of Geoscience are governed by a combination of general Faculty of Science regulations and the additional program specific regulations stated in the following sections.

It is essential for students to be familiar with both sets of regulations. It is helpful to read the Faculty Regulations in Section 3 first.

Students should consult the Degree Navigator periodically to ensure that requirements are being met. Also, students are strongly urged to consult the Department and the Undergraduate Science Centre at all stages of their program.

APEGA Requirements

The practice of geology and geophysics in Alberta is governed by Provincial law and regulated by the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA). Students are advised to visit to fill out an application form for the APEGA Student Advantage Program (ASAP).

In order to meet the requirements of professional registration, specific academic training and four years of appropriate full-time experience as a geologist- or geophysicist-in-training following graduation are needed.

The Majors and Honours BSc programs in Geology, Geology (Petroleum Geology Concentration), Applied and Environmental Geology, and Geophysics, whose course requirements are stipulated in sections 4.4.1-4.4.4, meet the current academic requirements for professional registration with APEGA, if the appropriate options are taken (see the Notes in the Required Courses subsections in sections 4.4.1-4.4.4). These academic requirements are available on the APEGA website:, and on the Department website (see below).

Department Information

Department Office: Earth Sciences 118

Telephone: 403.220.5841

Fax: 403.284.0074



Enrolment Limitations

Program Enrolment Limits

1. The Department of Geoscience limits enrolment in all programs. Students may be directly admitted into the Geology, Applied and Environmental Geology, or Geophysics programs. Students may also apply to transfer into the Geology (Petroleum Geology Concentration) program after completion of 30 units (5.0 full-course equivalents). As space permits, the Department will accept a certain number of students who wish to gain admission to the Department's programs by transferring from other institutions or programs. Any student requesting admission at this level is subject to section A.2 of the Admissions section of this Calendar. In the event that the number of students choosing any of these programs exceeds the number that can be accommodated by available resources, students will be admitted to that program in descending rank order of academic performance until the enrolment limit is reached.

2. Admission will be granted for Fall Term only and will be based upon academic merit. Due to limited enrolment capacity in many senior courses, it may not always be possible to accommodate every student's choice of optional geology courses in the third and subsequent years.

Course Enrolment Limitations

Many of the second-, third- and fourth-year courses in Geology and Geophysics are limited-enrolment courses, and priority for enrolment is given to students registered in one of the following programs: Geology, Geology (Petroleum Geology Concentration), Applied and Environmental Geology, Geophysics, Environmental Science (Geology Concentration), Natural Sciences (Geoscience Concentration), Earth Science.