Site Navigation
Welcome
Important Notice and Disclaimer
Academic Schedule
Tentative Future Dates
Undergraduate Degrees with a Major
Combined Degrees
Minor Programs
Student and Campus Services
Undergraduate Admissions
Academic Regulations
Co-operative Education/Internship
Tuition and General Fees
Awards and Financial Assistance
International Foundations Program
Faculty of Arts
Cumming School of Medicine
Faculty of Environmental Design
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Haskayne School of Business
Faculty of Kinesiology
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Nursing
Qatar Faculty
Schulich School of Engineering
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Werklund School of Education
Continuing Education
COURSES OF INSTRUCTION
About the University of Calgary
Who's Who
Glossary of Terms
Contact Us
Archives
University of Calgary Calendar 2016-2017 Academic Schedule
Academic Schedule
2016-2017 Academic Dates and Deadlines

Courses taught according to non-standard dates have different drop, add and withdrawal deadlines. Please refer to the Student Centre for details regarding those deadlines specific to your course(s). In addition, and in accordance with Faculty regulations, some courses will require Faculty approval to drop, add or withdraw from courses. The academic schedule may be updated online when required and as needed.

The schedules for the Faculties of Environmental Design, Graduate Studies, Law and the Cumming School of Medicine may have different start and end dates.

See: Spring/Summer 2016 | Fall/Winter 2016 | Spring/Summer 2017

Spring/Summer Term 2016 Spring Intersession 2016 Summer Intersession 2016
Academic Dates    
Start of Term
Monday, May 9 Monday, May 9 Tuesday, July 5
End of Term

Wednesday, August 31

Thursday, June 30 Wednesday, August 31
Start of Classes Monday, May 9 Monday, May 9 Tuesday, July 5
End of Classes Wednesday, August 17 Thursday, June 30 Wednesday, August 17
Start of Exams Saturday, July 2 Friday, August 19
End of Exams Monday, July 4 Monday, August 22
Registration Dates    
Last day to drop a class without financial penalty* Friday, May 13 Friday, May 13 Thursday, July 7
Last day to add, edit or swap a course Friday, May 13 Friday, May 13 Thursday, July 7
Last day to withdraw from a course** Wednesday, August 17 Thursday, June 30 Wednesday, August 17
Tuition and Refund Dates    
End of refund period Friday, May 13 Friday, May 13 Thursday, July 7
Tuition and Fee Payment Deadline Wednesday, May 18 Wednesday, May 18 Monday, July 11
Important Dates    
Congress - No Classes Thursday, May 26-Sunday, June 5
Spring Convocation Monday-Friday, June 6-10
Recognized Holidays (university closed)    
Victoria Day Monday, May 23
Canada Day Friday, July 1
Alberta Heritage Day Monday, August 1

*There will be no academic record of a course that is dropped by this date and tuition will be refunded.
**There will be a "W" recorded for the course and tuition will not be refunded.

(back to top)

Fall Term 2016 Winter Term 2017
Academic Dates   
Start of Term
Tuesday, September 6 Monday, January 2
End of Term
Friday, December 23 Friday, April 28
Block Week Tuesday-Saturday, September 6-10 Monday-Friday, January 2-6
Start of Classes Monday, September 12 Monday, January 9
Mid-Term Break Thursday-Sunday, November 10-13 Sunday-Sunday, February 19-26
End of Classes Friday, December 9 Wednesday, April 12
Start of Exams Monday, December 12 Saturday, April 15
End of Exams Thursday, December 22 Wednesday, April 26
Registration Dates   
Last day to drop a class without financial penalty* Friday, September 23 Friday, January 20
Last day to add, edit or swap a course Monday, September 26 Monday, January 23
Last day to withdraw from a course** Friday, December 9 Wednesday, April 12
Tuition and Refund Dates   
End of refund period Friday, September 23 Friday, January 20
Tuition and Fee Payment Deadline Friday, September 30 Friday, January 27
Important Dates   
Deadline to Apply for Fall Convocation Thursday, September 15
Fall Convocation Thursday, November 10
Deadline to Apply for Winter Conferral of Degree Sunday, January 15
Winter Conferral of Degree Friday, February 17
Deadline to Apply for Spring Convocation Thursday, March 31
Recognized Holidays (university closed)   
Labour Day Monday, September 5
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 10
Remembrance Day Friday, November 11
Holiday Observance Sunday-Saturday, December 25-31
New Year's Day Sunday,January 1
Alberta Family Day Monday, February 20
Good Friday Friday, April 14

*There will be no academic record of a course that is dropped by this date and tuition will be refunded.
**There will be a "W" recorded for the course and tuition will not be refunded.

(back to top)

Spring/Summer Term 2017 Spring Intersession 2017 Summer Intersession 2017
Academic Dates    
Start of Term
Monday, May 8 Monday, May 8 Tuesday, July 4
End of Term
Thursday, August 31 Friday, June 30 Thursday, August 31
Start of Classes Monday, May 15 Monday, May 15 Tuesday, July 4
End of Classes Wednesday, August 16 Tuesday, June 27 Wednesday, August 16
Start of Exams Friday, August 18 Wednesday, June 28 Friday, August 18
End of Exams Monday, August 21 Friday, June 30 Monday, August 21
Registration Dates    
Last day to drop a class without financial penalty* Friday, May 19 Friday, May 19 Monday July 10
Last day to add, edit or swap a course Friday, May 19 Friday, May 19 Monday, July 10
Last day to withdraw from a course** Wednesday, August 16 Tuesday, June 27 Wednesday, August 16
Tuition and Refund Dates    
End of refund period Friday, May 19 Friday, May 19 Monday July 10
Tuition and Fee Payment Deadline Wednesday May 24 Wednesday May 24 Wednesday July 12
Important Dates    
Spring Convocation Monday-Friday, June 5-9
Recognized Holidays (university closed)    
Victoria Day Monday, May 22
Canada Day Saturday, July 1 (university closed Monday, July 3)
Alberta Heritage Day Monday, August 7

*There will be no academic record of a course that is dropped by this date and tuition will be refunded.
**There will be a "W" recorded for the course and tuition will not be refunded.

(back to top)