University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Financial Reporting

Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on Fri, 08/17/2012 - 11:25am

About Us

Financial Reporting supports the university's planning and decision-making process and operational reporting needs by providing a team of financial professionals who offer leadership, consultation and support in the areas of financial and capital accounting, financial analysis and reporting and procedures/policy development. This team develops, analyzes and reports the month-end, quarter-end and year-end financial statements, forecasts and variance reports for the University Administration and University Board committees.

The team manages the financial systems administration for operating and balance sheets accounts including the chart of accounts, financial reporting systems and the non-financial classifications/requirements information. The team maintains the university's capital accounting systems and provides expertise for university capital funding and capital project financing issues. The team works in partnership with faculties and departments to ensure the understanding of and compliance with financial policies and procedures, and that funds are accounted in accordance with the those policies.

 

VIEW OUR ORGANIZATIONAL CHART

 

QUICK LINK TO DOCUMENTATION, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND FORMS

Financial Reporting Departments

Submitted by 21232f297a57a5a... on Fri, 07/11/2014 - 10:22am

Leadership

Position

Name

Phone

Email

 Director, Financial Reporting

 Brad Klaiber

 403-220-5894

 baklaibe@ucalgary.ca

Internal Financial Reporting

Internal Reporting Financial Reporting provides Internal Reporting related to the following areas:

  • Day to day management of funds (stewardship)
  • Accountability (departments responsible for accuracy & completeness)
  • Decision making
  • Deliver programs & services per each unit mandate
  • How much money do I have left...

 

Position

Name

Phone

Email

 Associate Director, Internal Reporting

 Chiu Szeto

 403-210-6071

 cnszeto@ucalgary.ca

Senior Financial Analyst

 Eston Shum

 403-220-6815

 eshum@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Financial Analyst

 Ferrol Parkin

 403-220-4859

 flparkin@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Financial Analyst

 Jerry Van Keulen

 403-210-8787

 kjvan@ucalgary.ca

External Financial Reporting

External Reporting Financial Reporting provides external reporting in the following areas:

 

Position

Name

Phone

Email

 Associate Director, External Financial Reporting

 Meghan King

 403-220-2037

 kingm@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Financial Analyst

 Danushki Mendis

 403-220-4364

 danushki.mendis2@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Financial Analyst

 Tracey Nguyen

 403-210-5445

 nguyentt@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Financial Analyst

 Fola Okusami

 403-220-8534

 fiokusam@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Financial Analyst

 Jennifer Tobin

 403-210-6533

 jctobin@ycalgary.ca

 Senior Financial Analyst

 Sujit Varghese

 403-210-6819

 sujit.varghese2@ucalgary.ca

 Articling Student

 Gerry Gao

 

 gerry.gao2@ucalgary.ca

Internal Controls & Compliance Reporting

The Internal Controls group is a subset within Financial Reporting which is focused on documenting and assessing financial risk. Internal Controls is accountable to ensure that the university administrative and business processes and objectives are documented and that key controls are identified. These controls are effective in their design and operation to address risk and process outcomes, which are subsequently monitored and brought back for attention to the responsible process owner and senior management groups.

Processes of concern to the Internal Controls group exist primarily with university finance, human resource, and information technology facets. The function exists to ensure that financial objectives are met, and that the university remains compliant so as to achieve strategic goals and satisfy various audit requirements.

Position

Name

Phone

Email

 Associate Director, Controls and Compliance Reporting

 Yang Wang

 403-220-6560

 ywang@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Controls Analyst

 Aris De Peuter  403-210-8994

 pacde@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Analyst, Internal Controls

 Vacant

 

 

 Senior Analyst, Internal Controls and Compliance Reporting

 Cherry Wang

 403-220-8126

 cherry.wang@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Disclosure Compliance Analyst

 James Nemeth

 403-210-7279

 jlnemeth@ucalgary.ca

 Disclosure Compliance Analyst

 Leah Virgo

 403-210-6470

 ljavirgo@ucalgary.ca

Capital Reporting

Position

Name

Phone

Email

 Manager, Capital Reporting

 Irene St. John

 403-220-2545

 i.stjohn@ucalgary.ca

 Team Lead, Asset Management

 Edwin Lee

 403-220-8721

 edwin.lee@ucalgary.ca

 Asset Management  Analyst

 Kevin Tsui

 403-210-7350

 kevin.tsui@ucalgary.ca

 Asset Management Administrator

 Christina Wright

 403-220-2427

 wrightc@ucalgary.ca

 Asset Management Administrator

 Navjit Dhaliwal

 403-220-2709

 dhaliwnk@ucalgary.ca

 Senior Project Accounting

 Cecilia Miranda

 403-220-2012

 mmiranda@ucalgary.ca

 Project Accountant

 Mike Chmielewski

 403-220-7494

 mchmiele@ucalgary.ca

 Project Accountant

 Debbie Marsden

 403-220-5325

 marsden@ucalgary.ca

 Capital Awards Liaison

 Joanne Kuang

 403-210-6660

 jkuang@ucalgary.ca

General Ledger Administration & Controls

Position

Name

Phone

Email

 Manager, General Ledger Administration & Controls

 Denise Kerleroux

 403-220-7618

 dkerlero@ucalgary.ca

 Financial Administrator

 Lauren Heatherington

 403-210-5429

 lauren.heatherington@ucalgary.ca

 Financial Administrator

 Maria Calma

 403-210-6391

 mtcalma@ucalgary.ca

 Financial Administrator

 Maria Chua

 403-210-8873

 majchua@ucalgary.ca

 Financial Administrator

 Bernadette Schuh

 403-220-6569

 baschuh@ucalgary.ca

 Bank Reconciliation

 Dragica Kazic

 403-220-3122

 dkazic@ucalgary.ca